2011 Book-A-Day Challenge, Week Two

The Challenge continues into Week Two . . . I fear I’m still not reaching my one book per day rate. In short . . . I must . . . read . . . faster. Either that or pick up some baby board books to gain some ground! 🙂

2011 Book-A-Day Challenge, Week 2

My modest stack for the week. Time to step it up!

My Goal: 75 Books in 75 Days

Days so Far: 14

Read, so far: 13

Children’s, picture books

  • Knuffle Bunny Free: An Unexpected Diversion, by Mo Willems. A lovely end to a fantastic picturebook series. Very touching, especially if anyone in your house has had a special attachment to any sort of “lovey”. At our house, it’s Bunny.
  • Art and Max, by David Weisner: Another fun read from the great illustrator of one of my all-time favorites, Tuesday. So much is conveyed through the characters’ expressions with minimal use of words.
  • City Dog, Country Frog, by Mo Willems and illustrated by Jon Muth: Sweetly rendered watercolor illustrations show an unusual friendship as it spans the seasons. Not in the same space as Willems’s funnier works like the Gerald and Piggie books, or the Pigeon books, but a nice tale nonetheless.
  • Math Curse, by Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith: The same team behind the Stinky Cheese Man, talks about math in humorous fashion. Perfect for demonstrating the idea that math is all around us. Younger kids might not get all the mathematical references to formulas or mathematicians, but I suspect they’ll still find it fun.
  • Library Lion, by Michelle Knudsen and illustrated by Kevin Hawkes: A re-read, I admit, of one of my most favorite picture books. Beautiful illustrations, a delightful story, with gentle lessons to teach. If you haven’t read it, by all means find it, check it out from the library, or borrow it from us!

Children’s/Young Adult, chapter book

  • Junonia, by Kevin Henkes: While Henkes is well known for his picture books like Lilly and the Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, amongst many others, many don’t know that he has done some novels as well. This was my first Henkes chapter book and I was pleasantly surprised, and I will plan to check out some of his other novels, as well. A lovely story about the highs and lows of life for a ten year-old girl. Would highly recommend for girls 9-12.
Children’s/Young Adult, graphic novel
  • Middle School is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff, by Jennifer Holm: I am becoming a huge Jenni Holm fan. She and her brother, Matt Holm team up to do the fantastic Baby Mouse graphic novel series for young readers. I enjoyed Our Only May Amelia, her award winning novel, and now this. As the title suggests, it is little snap shots of things collected by Ginny as she navigates a challenging year at school and at home. Items include receipts, journal entries, notes to friends, and even bank statements. Sure to connect with many girls ten and up.
It looks like I’m still behind by a book and with a busy couple weeks ahead, I suspect you’ll be seeing a lot of picture books being added to my Book-A-Day stack! But heck, I love reading those! Feel free to read expanded my expanded reviews of these books over at my Goodreads 2011 Book-A-Day bookshelf.
Previous 2011 Book-A-Day Entry:
One comment on “2011 Book-A-Day Challenge, Week Two

  1. […] The Tiger’s Wife, by Tea Obrecht: This novel has been receiving lots of praise in literary circles and I enjoyed it. I like many, will be eager to see what more Obrecht will put out after this significant first novel. Set in the Balkans, I found the most enjoyable parts of the book where the stories told to the narrator by her grandfather about his childhood and young adulthood. I found myself a bit disappointed in the ending, but would still recommend it. Feel free to read expanded my expanded reviews of these books over at my Goodreads 2011 Book-A-Day bookshelf. Previous 2011 Book-A-Day Entries: Week 1 Week 2 […]

Leave a Reply

