A Few Favorites, July 2011

Somethings favorites from here . . .

Movie/Television: The tv and dvd have been pretty quiet of late, but I must confess I’ve grown quite fond of Dexter from Showtime. No, not a show for everyone with its graphic violence, but if ever you were rooting for a serial killer, it’s Dexter Morgan. My husband and I just finished the Season Four, which is the last available season from Netflix. It of course ended in dramatic fashion and we are left hanging, and wringing our hands over how Dexter’s going to deal with this one.

Music: Every Tear Drop is a Waterfall by Coldplay. Usually, Coldplay songs don’t make me sit up and take notice, but I’m really liking this song. I get goosebumps when I hear it. I feel the need to dance. I mean spin around like I’m seven years old kind of dancing. Strange, I know. This is just a teaser though, from what I hear, as their next album isn’t slated to come out for a while.

Adult Literature: Not quite done, but enjoying the storytelling in The Tiger’s Wife, by Tea Obrecht. I can’t put my finger on it, but it reminds me of something else I’ve read.

Kid Literature:  I just finished my first novel, Junonia, from Kevin Henkes, a prolific picture book writer/illustrator.  It was a terrific novel which perfectly captured the emotions of joy and disappointment through the eyes of ten year-old girl. Would highly recommend for girls 10-12. My slightly longer review from Goodreads is here.

Recipe: Summer brings salad season to our house. We tend to have a lot more salads as entrees, using leftover grilled meats or beans and whatever vegetables might be hiding in the fridge. Here’s a link to my favorite, simple dressing that I found from the website Diggin Food: Lemon Thyme Vinaigrette

Kitchen tool: My measured nesting bowls. Not for precise measurements for flour or sugar, but great for prepping and measuring chopped veggies. I use at least one of these bowls everyday. At less than $15, they also make a great gift.

Things I’m looking forward to: More summer-like weather seems to have finally arrived in Seattle, despite the current grey day on record. I’m hoping for lots of time on our deck and in our backyard reading, running through the sprinkler, and grilling.

Leave a Reply

