2011 Book-A-Day Challenge, Week Three

Here we are with week three of the challenge. . . I have slipped another book back, so brace for a push of picture books to give me some cushion as I head in to the next few weeks!

Week Three's book stack

My Goal: 75 Books in 75 Days

Days so Far: 21

Read, so far: 19

Children’s, picture books

  • The Man Who Walked Between the Towers, written and illustrated by Mordicai Gerstein. Terrific illustrations that really highlight the concept of perspective drawing. Not a lot of detail is provided about the background of the daring walker, Phillippe Petit, or exactly how they pulled off the feat of the walk. It does make me want to learn more through the documentary Man on a Wire.
  • He Came With the Couch, written and illustrated by David Slonim: Subtly funny through both text and the animated expressions on the characters in this picture book. Both my girls have loved this book.
  • Big Chickens, by Leslie Helakoski and illustrated by Henry Cole: Prepare yourself to laugh and giggle with this fun book. Three scaredy-cat chickens get themselves into and out of all sorts of silly fixes. Very fun to read out-loud.
  • Interrupting Chicken, written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein: This precocious little chicken will surely delight readers as he creatively abridges and succinctly rewrites several familiar tales. Probably best appreciated by kids familiar with the stories of Chicken Little, Little Red Ridinghood, Hansel and Gretel. Parents will surely get a laugh out of the little chickens stalling techniques at bedtime.

Children’s/Young Adult, chapter book

  • The Westing Game, by Ellen Raskin: This is my first read of this children’s book that was published in 1978. You can understand it’s sticking power and popularity over the years as it is packed full of interesting characters and has a very involved plot. I found myself constantly having to flip to different parts of the book to keep track of everything, so I’d suggest it for strong readers third grade and up.
Adult Fiction
  • The Tiger’s Wife, by Tea Obrecht: This novel has been receiving lots of praise in literary circles and I enjoyed it. I like many, will be eager to see what more Obrecht will put out after this significant first novel. Set in the Balkans, I found the most enjoyable parts of the book where the stories told to the narrator by her grandfather about his childhood and young adulthood. I found myself a bit disappointed in the ending, but would still recommend it.
Feel free to read expanded my expanded reviews of these books over at my Goodreads 2011 Book-A-Day bookshelf.
Previous 2011 Book-A-Day Entries:
Leave a Reply

