Book-A-Day 2011: Best Reads

This summer, I participated in the Book-A-Day Challenge  created by Donalyn Miller, an inspiring educator from Texas. Normally, I describe myself as an avid reader but sometime life just swirls at such a pace that reading moves to the bottom of the priority list. I love that the Book-A-Day challenge helped me make time for reading. Part of my goal was to chip away at my very long to-be-read (TBR) pile, but alas the Book-A-Day community on Twitter actually made my list much longer as they shared all of their wonderful finds with the Twitter hashtag #bookaday. Although my TBR is much longer than when I started, I’m greatful and inspired by the recommendations and look forward to diving in to them. Many, many thanks to Donalyn!

My goal this year was 75 books in 75 days. I meet the goal and along the way re-read some wonderful books but also had the opportunity to read many new books to me for both kids and adults. Below are some highlights of my summer reading, in no particular order:

Favorite re-reads:


Favorite Picture Books:


Favorite Early Chapter book:

  • Marty McGuire, written by Kate Messner and illustrated by Brian Floca. Grades 2-4


Favorite Middle Grades Chapter book:


Favorite Adult Fiction
  • Room, by Emma Donoghue

Favorite Adult Non-Fiction


“New to me” authors I’m excited about:

Kate Messner

Erica Perl

Sharon Creech–her poetry books Love that Dog and Hate that Cat might just make me like poetry yet. Can’t wait to read some of her novels.

4 comments on “Book-A-Day 2011: Best Reads

  1. Betsy says:

    Off to the library website! Books I found this summer Jeremy Thatcher, Dragon Hatcher, grades 1-4 and 11 Birthdays (girls 4-6). Both are on the Oregon Battle of the Books list. Oh, also The Adventures of Edward Tulane – a strange book, not sure who it would be best for, but it is interesting.

  2. Sena says:

    Lorna, Thank you so much for your re-cap. I love it….can never have enough recommendations for good books in this family of challenged readers. 🙂

  3. Lorna says:

    You’re welcome, Sena! Have you checked out early graphic novels for the girls? Often a big hit with reluctant readers. Very easy options: Benny and Penny series by Geoffrey Hayes. Other options are Baby Mouse series or Squish, both from Matt and Jenni Holm. Frankie Pickle is another wildly popular one that is part GN and part chapter book. Good luck!

  4. Lorna says:

    Yeah, Betsy! Glad the list is useful to you and the kids. I love your suggestions too, several are on my to-read list. Sharing titles is such a great way to get ideas, thanks!

Leave a Reply

