Squashy, Soupy Goodness

It’s no secret, I love soups. I make lots of them year-round in the slow cooker, or on the stovetop. And to me, fall means I can make soup with abandon and sometimes my kids even eat some as well. I wanted to share a couple of vegetarian squash soups that received a couple tentative thumbs up recently. Yes, you read that correctly, squash, and yes they ate some. Not gallons, but some. Their squash phobic uncle would be horrified to hear that I may just have swung them to the dark side. Only time, and making these soups again for the kids, will tell if I’ve really succeeded. I’ll admit that I heard, “Not for lunch, please,” remarks from the kids about the two soups, but they did finish their bowls for dinner, which to this mama is a pretty good review. My husband and I had no problems taking care of the leftovers.

Note: Both are pureed soups, which you can whirl up in the blender or food processor, but I use my much loved immersion blender. Fewer dishes to clean up, after all!

˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜

The first soup I’m sharing is made with delicata squash, which I’ve only discovered in the last few years and love for its more potato-y qualities and soft pretty yellow color. This recipe came with a CSA box from Full Circle Farms, perhaps in the fall of 2010. I couldn’t find who they sourced their recipe from, so I’ll credit Full Circle for now, but to whomever–thank you. It’s delicious; you’d think it has more cream than it actually does.

 Creamy Delicata Soup (click on the link to print a pdf)

makes 2-3 servings, easily doubles

1 delicata squash

2 cloves garlic peeled, but left whole

2 T butter

1/2 onion, or 1 shallot, chopped

1 t fresh sage, or 1/4 t dried

1/8 t nutmeg

3 c stock (I used vegetable broth)

1/4 c heavy whipping cream

1 t cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place squash with garlic in hollow, face down in a lightly greased baking dish. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until soft . In a medium to large pot, melt butter and saute onions or shallot and sage until translucent. When squash is soft, discard the garlic cloves and remove the squash from the shell and add it to the pot with onions; add nutmeg. Add stock and cream and simmer for another 15-20 minutes. Add cider vinegar and puree all in a food processor, blender, or with an immersion blender. Salt and pepper to taste and serve.

˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜˜

The second soup that was moderately well received by the younger set, and eagerly sought out as leftovers from the grown-ups was the Butternut Squash-Apple Soup from Omid Roustaei, PCC Cooks instructor for PCC Natural Markets here in the Seattle area.

Ginger. Apples. Butternut squash. Coconut milk. What’s not to love? Sweet and creamy. Next time I might experiment as is mentioned in the recipe’s notes to try roasting the squash first for a richer taste. I might also see what light coconut milk does to the flavor and texture. Regular coconut milk was heavenly though, I must admit.

Hope the soup’s on at your house, too!

One comment on “Squashy, Soupy Goodness

  1. Betsy Rolland says:

    I love how the croutons sit on top of the soup!

Leave a Reply

