Caldecott Challenge Update, #4

A Caldecott Snapshot

  • Total Books Read to-date: 104/310
  • Stack count: 5
  • Number of Inter-library loans: 5
  • Farthest Inter-library loan: You Can Write Chinese, ~836 miles, California State University-Hayward
  • Oldest book: 1944 Caldecott Honor, Pierre Pidgeon, illustrated by Arnold E. Bare and written by Lee Kingman
  • Newest book: 1947 Caldecott Honor, Timothy Turtle, illustrated by Tony Palazzo and written by Al Graham

My thoughts on the stack:

The 1940s continue to demonstrate they were a rather dry period for picturebooks. Several stories were really rather boring, but Timothy Turtle gave me hope! I hope you’ll get a chance to find this out-of-print book from your library or a used book seller. And, have I mentioned lately how much I love my library? Five out-of-print books delivered to my library from around the West and at no cost to me. Pretty cool, I say. Support your public libraries!

Some memorable books from the stack . . .

_________________________________________________________________

Sing Mother Goose

illustrated by Marjorie Torrey, and music by Opal Wheeler

1946 Caldecott Medal

Marjorie Torrey's Illustration for Ride a Cock Horse

This book has many familiar nursery rhymes with illustrations and sheet music to accompany. While I can’t declare you need to find this book to fulfill your nursery rhyme needs today, it does have some nice illustrations, and the music would be great for a teacher or family that is musically inclined. The book has three types of drawings: pen and ink, pen and ink with single color plates, and then full color plates. I was partial to the full color plates and their jewel tone colors, with details that reminded me of some Japanese wood block prints I have seen.

_________________________________________________________________

Timothy Turtle

illustrated by Tony Palazzo and written by Al Graham

1947 Caldecott Honor

This book stands out for its playful rhyming text that feels . . . well . . . like a storybook.  Palazzo’s pictures were a nice accompaniment to the writing, and I loved the expressive animals. Graham’s word choices were great, and even included unexpected vocabulary that made it a treat to read aloud. The design of the book is also very different than other books of the time, with non-traditional typesetting that is curved or even diagonal at times. Both my seven year-old and I thought it was fun. This is one worth tracking down!

_________________________________________________________________

Find all of these books reviewed over at my Goodreads Caldecott bookshelf. You can also follow along in the Newbery discussions, fondly called Nerdcott, at Twitter using the hashtag #nerdcott, or join us in the stress-free Challenge! Find out more about the challenge here in Laura’s original post or Anna’s original post.

Leave a Reply

