March Recipe Round-up

A look at some recent recipes tried and adored at our house. Yes, soup season is in full-force at our house!

_____________________________________

Something They Clamored For

photo credit: Allrecipes contributor, Kristi

Fast and Delicious Black Bean Soup: This delicious soup is always a crowd pleaser, and battles ensue for the leftovers. I almost always double the amount as a result. My modifications: I use an orange or red bell pepper. I reserve about 1/4 of the black beans, but do a rough puree using my imersion blender on the the rest before I add the ham and the reserved black beans. It calls for a little simmer time, which I sometimes do over a few hours in the slow cooker on the low setting. Garnish away with sour cream/plain yogurt, cheese, hot sauce, fresh tomatoes, or avocado.

_____________________________________

Someday they’ll like it

Photo credit: from USA Today

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili From Kim O’Donnel, Seattle-area chef and author of The Meat Lover’s Meatless Cookbook. I’ve made a number of recipes from this vegetarian cookbook and enjoyed them all. I cut way back on the spice for the girls (using just one adobo chili), but they still weren’t digging it. Silly kids! My husband and I loved it, however, and found the sweet heat from the adobo chiles really nice. I will have to try it again, in hopes of bringing the girls along to the delights of spicy foods. I found this recipe on the USA Today website.

_____________________________________

A nice twist on a familiar

Photo from the Hogwash Blog

Yogurt Dip with Dill and Feta: Isn’t that beautiful? I’ve been following Jess Thomson, cookbook author and blogger over at Hogwash for a while now, and the lovely photo and presentation of this dip caught my eye when I saw it back in January. It is a great twist on ranch dip and I loved the feta. She recommends fully-fatted Greek yogurt, but I found it turned out pretty  good using a very thick non-fat Greek yogurt. You could probably also strain another favorite plain yogurt and try that. I made this ahead for a recent ski trip, and the flavors improved as they mingled for a day or two in the fridge. A perfect addition to the après cocktail hour!

_____________________________________

Something From the “Easier than I thought” Files

Photo from Food Network

Baked Brown Rice: Knowing the nutritional benefits of brown rice, I’m trying to use it more frequently at home. I’ve found, however, that it never turns out quite right when I make it in my old school rice cooker. It cooks unevenly, leaving some nicely cooked pieces on top, but then a dried out crust on the bottom. I can’t recall where, but I heard about baking the rice and tried Alton Brown’s recipe. Yes, you dirty both the stove top pan and the dish you bake it in, but it’s perfect, every time. 

Leave a Reply

