It’s Monday: What Are You Reading? April 2, 2012

Weekly, the folks at Teach Mentor Texts, Jen and Kellee, host the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA” It’s a chance to recap what I’ve read in the last week and a peek at what I’ll be reading in the week ahead. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in or see the links of other reader/bloggers to find out where their reading adventures have taken them. Click on the cover images  for the synopsis of each book.

From Last Week:

Some Great Wordless Picture Books . . .

Some Great Picture Books from Last Week . . .

Graphic Novels

I love Frankie! Frankie Pickle is a series that is a great hybrid of graphic novel and easier chapter books.  I think the illustrations, funny story line, and shorter “consumable” length will be a huge hit with reluctant readers, as well as humor lovers grades 2-4. (Simon & Schuster, 2009)

Middle Grade Chapter Books

This is a lovely fantasy that will appeal to fans of the Narnia books by C.S. Lewis. Usually, I’m not drawn to fantasy, but much of the book is spent talking about the very  real problems fifth-grader, Hazel, is having with school, friends, and family. I’d recommend it to fantasy fans grades 4-7, or even those, who like me, aren’t so sure about fantasy books. I think you’ll like this one! (Walden Pond Press, 2011)

Upcoming Reading Adventures:

Continuing these chapter books . . .


This is a whole family read aloud. Chapters are shorter and have the girls asking for more each time we’ve read it. Check out the author reading an early chapter from Wonder. You can get a sense of the humor that infuses the issues in this book.

Will be starting these chapter books . . .

Historical fiction infused fantasy. A recommendation from Anita Silvey at Children’s Book-A-Day Alamanac

 A recommendation from my second grader: “Oooh, that’s good. Really good.”

Happy Reading!

12 comments on “It’s Monday: What Are You Reading? April 2, 2012

  1. Are you enjoying Wonder? I’m reading that now, too, and finding I get sucked quickly into the pages.

  2. Anne says:

    I see that Wonder is on a lot of people’s lists. It sounds very good.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I adore Sea of Dreams & wrote a review of book love for Breadcrumbs some time in the past (can’t remember when). It’s great! Thanks for the sharing of so many. Good to see!

  4. I love the Wonder farting nurse chapter. I listened to it today with a student and we were cracking up. I love seeing Scaredy Squirrel and Frankie Pickle. They are like cheery, happy old friends smiling it me in this post. 🙂

  5. You’re the third person I’ve seen whose currently reading Wonder, which I hadn’t heard about until today! Clearly, I need to check it out. And I love the Eva Ibbotson/Sharon Creech combo, which takes me straight back to middle school.

  6. Great books! Love Frankie Pickle, Scaredy Squirrel and the Shana Corey book.
    Enjoy Wonder- it is brilliant. We reviewed it today: http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/04/wonder.html#axzz1qwZC05ZD

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  7. Lorna says:

    Maria, we are totally enjoying Wonder, though at a slow pace as a read aloud. Less than 60 pages in, and I already want to stencil quotes of it on to the walls of my house!

  8. Lorna says:

    Yes, Anne, Wonder is an important book worthy of reading and sharing with the young people in your life!

  9. Lorna says:

    Linda–I tracked down and found your thoughtful review of Breadcrumbs as well. I completely agree with your thoughts that the challenges Hazel faces with changes in friends and family life will resonate with middle schoolers. Great book.

  10. Lorna says:

    Jen–yes, that farting chapter is so funny. I think sharing the author’s reading of it gives potential readers such an insight in to the humor that infuses this book.

  11. Lorna says:

    Anna–You must read Wonder! I’m finding it to be such a great book with lots of important messages to share with the young people in our lives.

  12. Lorna says:

    Kellee-yes lots of fun books, and indeed Wonder has so many important messages. Loved the review by you and Jen!

Leave a Reply

