May Recipe Roundup

A look at some recent recipes tried and adored at our house. Well, at least by most of us.

_____________________________________

Fast, easy pasta

Photo credit: Everyday Food

Penne with tomatoes, chickpeas and fresh mozarrella

“Small”, my nearly vegetarian, picked this out as one she wanted to try from my Pinterest recipe stream. Happy to report that she loved it! Easy and fast to make.

 _____________________________________

A twist on stir-fry

Photo from SkinnyTaste.com

Asian Turkey Meatballs and veggie stir-fried rice

A fun way to mix up the usual stir-fry! After these were cooked, I plated them up with some veggie fried rice. I used some of the “dipping sauce” in the recipe as a flavoring sauce for the rice.

 _____________________________________

Soup (Of Course!)

Photo from Everyday Food

15-minute White Bean Soup

A good basic vegetarian bean soup recipe. I doctored mine up just a bit by sauteing some chopped leeks and carrots before I added the garlic and herbs.

~~~~~

Photo from Bon Appétit

Chicken Pho in the Slow Cooker

I used bone-in breast and thigh pieces with skin to make the broth. I served with onion slivers, cilantro, lime wedges, and julienned carrots, since bean sprouts are so hard to find these days. I didn’t want the broth chicken to go to waste, so I removed the skins and bones and cut it up to use in a baked macaroni and cheese casserole later in the week.

_____________________________________

From the Favorites File

Recipe from Not For Lunch

Strawberry-Rhubarb Muffins with Cardamom Streusel

My all-time favorite muffin recipe.

 _____________________________________

 Fun to make with the kids

Photo from 101 Cookbooks

Sesame Almond Brown Rice Balls

My youngest and I had great fun making these. We used the short grain brown rice known at our food co-op as Sweet Brown Rice. To shape them, follow Heidi’s suggestions in the recipe. I used a mini-muffin tin as our form and though it was perfect for making bite-sized balls. They were a huge hit with the whole family.

What’s been a hit at your house lately? Do share!


One comment on “May Recipe Roundup

  1. […] it seemed like a lot of fish sauce, so I might reduce that by a teaspoon. I served it with some Sesame Almond Brown Rice Balls that Small made as practice for her demonstration speech at […]

Leave a Reply

