05.14.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Weekly, the folks at Teach Mentor Texts, Jen and Kellee, host the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA” It’s a chance to recap what I’ve read in the last week and look at what I’ll be reading in the week ahead. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in, or see the links of other readers to find out where their reading adventures have taken them. Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book. 

My Reading Adventures from the past week . . .

For preschoolers/kindergartners:

With three of my nephews being five and under, I’m always looking for books that might appeal to them. Brief words and funny twists on animal sounds make this a winner. Published in 1999, I somehow missed reading it with my girls. (Michael di Capua Books/1999)

Some terrific 2012 picture book releases:

This fun book will most certainly be an instant hit with older siblings. Davy is a big brother to 12 sheep who mimic his every move, and he wishes their adoration would go away. Great message, and who knew sheep could be so expressively drawn! (Feiwel and Friends/2012)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  A fun spin on the three little pigs. Cute illustrations with cut outs and minimal but effective text. Probably best appreciated by those familiar with the original story so that they get the twist. Grades 2 and up. (Abrams Appleseed/2012)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lovely book with a beautiful, compact design, that just fits nicely with the story. I love the collage in combination with illustrations. The story itself reminds me of The Story of Ferdinand, as Kali is expected to be a fierce hunter, but instead has astounding talents as a musician. (Schwartz & Wade Books/2012)

Some books from a visiting author:

          

At my girls’ school, I’m currently chair for PTA art enrichment programming, and this week we were able to arrange a visit to our kindergarten classrooms from Margaret Read MacDonald who is a world reknowned story teller and author of folk tale inspired books.  In preparation, I picked up a couple of her books. Of these, the favorite for both me and my youngest was The Squeaky Door. I loved how she first told the stories, often in an interactive style, and then shared the illustrator’s images with the kids afterwards. (First two are HarperCollins/2006 and 1998, last one Albert Whitman & Company/2006)

Finished this stack for the Caldecott Challenge:

I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this stack later in the week!

A young adult novel:

I enjoyed this one a lot. The characters all seemed very real as they walked that fine, post-high school line between wanting it all to stay the same and the urge to reinvent yourself.

Upcoming Reading Adventures:

Continuing this family read aloud . . .

We’re now hearing from Jack and we’re very curious as to how he’ll explain himself.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This Newbery Challenge book awaits me at the library:

1930 Newbery Medal about the many adventures of a doll. Mr. Sharp and Mr. Schu say that it isn’t terrible, which is great to hear after finally surviving the 1920s Newbery books.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Happy Reading!

7 comments on “05.14.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I read Kali’s Song a few weeks ago. I wasn’t a fan the first time, but Preschooler wanted repeated readings and the story grew on me. I’m adding Huff and Puff to my TBR, that looks like a fun little twist 🙂

  2. I agree, Maria! I wasn’t quite getting the charm of the book on the first read, but enjoyed it upon multiple reads. I just loved the textures in the illustrations.

  3. I feel like I have read Huff and Puff but I don’t think I have yet…maybe I just put it on my TBR. It looks entirely cute! From What I Remember… comes out tomorrow and I was able to read it on NetGalley and loved it. I can’t wait to read it again – when I saw the cover of The Disenchantments, it made me think of From What I Remember…I wonder how they compare. I’m definitely adding The Disenchantments to my TBR. 🙂 I think Wonder would make for a great family read aloud. I like Jack…nobody is perfect. Lots of bodies aren’t perfect in Wonder but that’s what it’s about. There are so many characters to relate to in the book. Everyone will respond differently to Auggie. Love it. So cool to hear you are reading it for a family read aloud!

  4. I really loved Kali’s Song, but I haven’t read it to my class yet. Thanks for the reminder!
    Another Brother looks familiar to me. Need to get that one!
    And, I think it’s just awesome that your family read-aloud is Wonder!

    Thanks for sharing these titles!

  5. Never tire of reading Bark George. I’ve been waiting for Huff and Puff, looking forward to reading and sharing it soon! 🙂

  6. oooo, I adored the Disenchantments. Liked it when I first read it, but it has really grown on me as I’ve thought about it more. Huff and Puff and Bark George are really cute and I am looking forward to reading Another Brother and Kali’s Song.

  7. Lorna says:

    I too like the Disenchantments, despite it’s melancholy tone. LaCour really captured well that bittersweet post-high school emotion.

Leave a Reply

