05.28.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Weekly, the folks at Teach Mentor Texts, Jen and Kellee, host the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA” It’s a chance to recap what I’ve read in the last week and look at what I’ll be reading in the week ahead. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in, or see the links of other readers to find out where their reading adventures have taken them.

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Reading Adventures from the past week . . .

A Jenni Holm-filled week of books and a visit:

On Sunday, the whole family went to see Jenni Holm when she was in Seattle at the terrific Secret Garden Books. I don’t know who was more excited to see her: Small, my extreme Babymouse fan (see the photo); Tall, my ten-year-old daughter who loves both her historical fiction and the Babymouse series; or me, who loves that she makes wonderful books that my kids, and many others love to read. She was gracious and funny during her talk, the Q&A, and the book signing. My favorite scoop: Her brother Matt Holm sometimes forgets to include Babymouse’s tail in drafts of the books. There is now someone at Random House who has the job of “Tail Checker”. Love it!

I thoroughly enjoyed this work of historical fiction. Set in the Great Depression, we meet eleven-year-old Turtle who has been sent off by her hard-working single mother to live with her aunt in Key West. It proves to be a whole new world for her as she spends her days with a rough and tumble group of cousins and their friends. Amidst all the fun, unsupervised kid antics, there is also a deeper story of learning about the true meaning of unconditional love through her extended family, which also includes an estranged grandmother. I loved the voice of Turtle and it often reminded me of the quick-tongued and earnest Opal in Kate DiCamillo’s Because of Winn-Dixie. I’d recommend this one for third grade and up for independent readers, or perhaps second grade as a read aloud. (Random House/2010)

Another funny, imagination-filled Babymouse graphic novel adventure. This time, the nemesis . . . dodgeball.

Some funny, funny picture books:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gems, new and old:

Knopf/2012

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

(My copy) Oblensky/1959

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Upcoming Reading Adventures:

Continuing these books:

Our whole family read-aloud. Sadly, not a lot of progress here this week due to a hectic family schedule this week, but we’re anxious to hear from relative outsider, Justin.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Enjoying this one a lot, and should wrap it up soon.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Up next:

An adult book that I’ve had on hold at the library.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1931 Newbery Medal

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Plus: A big stack of inter-library loan 1950s books for Caldecott that I’m picking up this week.

Happy Reading!

8 comments on “05.28.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I enjoyed State of Wonder, but I haven’t read Bel Canto. I’ll put it on my list! It was interesting to read Turtle in Paradise right after The Paris Wife as I wasn’t expect Hemingway to show up in Turtle’s world.

  2. Love Chicken Dance! You need to check out the sequel Bawk and Roll! It’s just as good! Neversink is in my summer reading pile. Can’t wait until I can just focus on reading and not have to think about all the other things I have to do! Happy Reading

  3. Jennifer says:

    Loved seeing your tweets from the Babymouse event! My son is getting into these, and he loves them so far!
    Adding some of the picture books to my list; they all look great!

  4. Lorna says:

    Good luck wrapping up your year, Stacey! Yes, Bawk and Roll is on my TBR for the summer!

  5. Lorna says:

    Thanks, Jennifer! Yes, it is so fun to watch your kids get super excited about and author, and then to meet them . . . over the moon! 🙂

  6. Beth Shaum says:

    I love that you’re reading Wonder together as a family. I wish more families did this together. I’m always telling parents at my school to keep reading to and with their kids even though their in junior high now. It’s such a great bonding experience.

  7. Love your Jenni Holm picture! So cute!
    Enjoy Cat Who Went to Heaven- I actually liked it a lot (though I am a cat lover).
    And I am glad you are enjoying Neversink.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  8. Maria says:

    That looks (and sounds!) like such a fun author visit! Isn’t it great when kids discover that the authors are real, actual, living, breathing, people?! 😉 And the illustrations in Cloud Spinner are some of my recent favorites. Just beautiful.

Leave a Reply

