06.11.12: It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.  It’s a chance to recap what I’ve read in the last week and look at what I’ll be reading in the week ahead. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in, or see the links of other readers to find out where their reading adventures have taken them.

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last recap, as I took some time to do Armchair BEA posts and had guests in town. For all those reasons, plus crazy schedules with the end of year activities at my kids’ school, my reading was light over the past two weeks. Most of my reading was picture books, and I’m underway in a good adult chapter book.

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some picture books highlights:

A great twist on the traditional ABC book that is filled with silly good fun. I’m a sucker for humor-filled picture books and when you add a silly, interrupting moose, I apparently love it even more. This will be a hit for the kindergarten and early primary grade kids. (2012/Greenwillow Books)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A nice little story about the life of one subway car over the decades as it goes from being brand-new to the scrap heap and then beyond as it begins yet another role. I’d recommend for Kindergarten and up. (2011/Knopf)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I really liked this book for its narrative tale of the pieces of a special family quilt and its beautiful illustrations. It most certainly reminded me of Patricia Polacco’s The Keeping Quilt, but I think this would be suited well for even younger readers (Kindergarten and up) as the story is not as dense and has a nice sibling element to it as well. (2012/Peachtree)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This book is enjoyable for both its fantastic illustrations which are a blend of many mediums and the humorous story. The illustrator and writer step inside the story line to actually argue about how it should unfold. It’s too abstract for very young readers, but would be great to share with kids 8 and up. (2012/Disney Hyperion)

Other picture books I read and liked:

Other completed books:

1931 Newbery Medal. Not a horrible read, but I’m not sure it would appeal to many kids today.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I enjoyed this hero adventure story starring a puffin, a walrus, a humming bird, and a whole lot of evil owls. It has all the elements of good guys, bad guys, and friendships that would make this a great read aloud for third to fourth grades. Readers who like animal fantasy stories will enjoy this one a lot. (2012/Walden Pond Press)

Upcoming Reading Adventures:

Continuing these books:

Our whole family read-aloud.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I started Jeffrey Eugenides, The Marriage Plot, but just wasn’t feeling it. I’ll go back to it eventually, but instead I’ve picked up the Art of Fielding, another “adult” book. It’s super long, so I’ll be a while with this one, but the character development so far is very interesting. Yes, baseball is front and center, but I can tell it’s going to be about a lot more than that.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Plus: I’ve still got a big stack of inter-library loan 1950s books for Caldecott that I will really be reading this week.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

4 comments on “06.11.12: It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m going to start adding all of your picture books to my Goodreads shelf so I won’t FREEZE (like I did today) when I go into the picture book section of the library. There’s just too much to choose from!

  2. I almost picked up the audio of The Art of Fielding-probably would have been a good choice, because it is long & I could have just listened. I’ll get it eventually-have heard good things about it. I have Mooshka & loved it. Thanks for all the other titles-they sound great.

  3. You always have amazing picture book recs- thank you 🙂

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  4. Beth Shaum says:

    AWESOME books this week!

    I LOVED Z is for Moose and Chloe and the Lion.

Leave a Reply

