June Recipe Roundup

When time permits, I of course love to linger a bit more in the kitchen, so I was super excited to have a date night at a cooking class offered from our food co-op, PCC Natural Markets. The class, called Fishermen’s Spring was taught by Becky Selengut, who is a private chef, teacher, and author of the Good Fish cookbook. My husband and I both loved her casual and informative manner, and the food she prepared for us was delicious. She is an advocate of slow cooking, but she offered lots of great tips on how to streamline steps or even make certain components ahead of time. I can’t wait to try some of the recipes from our take-away packet like rhubarb-thyme jam with homemade bread sticks and halibut in Thai green curry sauce–delicious! If you’re in the Seattle-area (or even beyond!) and have the chance to take a class with Becky, do it! I’m saving up now to do a cooking demonstration and meal at her home! How fun would that be?

Of course, during the week, I need recipes that are quick to pull off or can even be made ahead to help ease the craziness of the homework and kids’ sports practice-filled evenings. Many of the below recipes have come to the rescue on these busier nights, and heck they even liked them!

_____________________________________

In a hurry vegetarian

Photo credit: Everyday Food

When the components of this dish are made ahead of time, it is very quick and can be pulled together in the time it takes to pre-heat your oven. My variation used thicker sprouted corn tortillas that we love at our house, and we added the tomatoes to the corn salsa mixture rather than cooking them in the oven. I’ve also made this with both cheddar and jack, both with equal success.

 _____________________________________

Cold Noodle Salad

Photo credit: farm+house+table

Buckwheat Noodles with Green Beans and Toasted Sesame-Lime Vinaigrette

I  made this one ahead of time, earlier in the afternoon so it was ready as people rolled in from the evening sports carpool. I used buckwheat soba noodles which gave it some extra protein. It was crunchy and fresh tasting. It also made for some good leftovers the next day. Initially, it seemed like a lot of fish sauce, so I might reduce that by a teaspoon. I served it with some Sesame Almond Brown Rice Balls that Small made as practice for her demonstration speech at school.

_____________________________________

Let the grilling season begin!

photo from Skinny Taste

Turkey Burgers with Zucchini

I’m not necessarily a proponent of hiding veggies from kids, but ground meat is such a great place to add shredded veggies, and honestly I’m happy to point them out as we eat them. I’m often throwing zucchini or carrots into ground taco meat, so this recipe caught my eye on Pinterest for its simplicity. I’ve made other veggie studded burgers, but they were all pretty time-consuming. Before adding the shredded zucchini to the turkey, I let it rest in a sieve to drain of the water a bit.

_____________________________________

For the tail-end of rhubarb season

Buttermilk Rhubarb Coffee Cake

Another rhubarb season draws to a close (although there’s always frozen rhubarb!) and I have yet another yummy addition to my rhubarb recipe files. This is a moist, not too sweet coffee cake that I served as an after dinner dessert with a bit of vanilla ice cream. No pictures of it on Mollie’s website, and it certainly wasn’t around long enough to be photographed at our house!

 _____________________________________

 The tastiest banana bread I’ve made

photo from 101 Cookbooks

Lemony Olive Oil Banana Bread

I have wanted to try an olive oil quick bread for a while now and had a pile of ripe bananas calling my name when I remembered seeing this recipe from Heidi at 101 Cookbooks. In short, it was delicious. I loved the brightness of the lemon, and olive oil and yogurt made it so moist. I made this in a large quick bread pan and skipped the glaze, though I do love her presentation in a bundt pan.

 _____________________________________

Do tell! What has been a hit at your house? As always, come check out my Pinterest page, where I’m posting things I love and recipes I look forward to trying!

Leave a Reply

