06.25.12: It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.  Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in, or see the links of other readers to find out where their reading adventures have taken them.

I’m not even a teacher, but this time of year has been super crazy at our house with its whirl of end-of-school year activities, house guests, and a wicked virus that rolled through. As a result, it’s been several weeks since my last post, but thankfully, I’ve still had lots of time to read!

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some picture books highlights:

Affirmative. This is one fun book! A boy befriends a robot, who suddenly malfunctions and the boy helps it feel better. The robot in turn gets his chance to help the boy feel better as only a robot could. Cute illustrations and fun text will have preschoolers on up screaming for a re-read.  (2012/Knopf)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Yes, there are a lot of “kids want a pet” books out there, but this one is a standout. Recommend for kindergarten and up. (2011/Roaring Brook Press)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Oh, I just adored this pair of books! It is really a simple format of each page illustrating a different quiet or loud situation, but many of them are sweet or funny. Great for preschool and up. (2010 and 2011/Houghton Mifflin)

My favorite Quiet moment: Think of a good reason you were drawing on the wall quiet.

My favorite Loud moment: Burp during quiet time loud.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Other picture books I read and liked:

Other completed books:

 A stack of books from the 1950s for the Caldecott Challenge, including this 1952 Caldecott Medal winner, Finders Keepers. Read my latest Caldecott update here.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

For older teens and adults. I really enjoyed this book and whizzed through its 500-pages in pretty quick fashion, which is unusual for me.

Ongoing Reading Adventures:

Continuing these books:

Our whole family read-aloud.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A young-adult favorite on Twitter at the moment. I’m excited it finally came in at my library, and I’ve gobbled up the first 100 pages in a heart beat.

Next in line:

Middle-grade chapter book. This was on my currently-reading pile and I was a couple of chapters in before my youngest grabbed it from me.

For my Newbery Challenge, 1932 Medal winner.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

19 comments on “06.25.12: It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Some great books! I was floored by how much I loved The Art of Fielding. Great stuff.

  2. Lorna says:

    Katherine-I wasn’t prepared to like The Art of Fielding as much as I did. I have a feeling it’s a book that people will either really like, or not be too fond of, though I can’t pinpoint why! Glad I found it though!

  3. I just loved Boy + Bot!! I bought a copy for my school library and had to buy one for myself! I have not seen Prudence Wants a Pet. I’ll have to look for it. I just got done reading The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom. I loved it! I was so happy to find out that it is the first in a series! Can’t wait to share it with my students next year.

  4. Lorna says:

    I totally agree, Stacey! Boy + Bot is a keeper. With four little boy nephews, you can imagine what book I’ll be gifting a lot this year! 🙂

  5. megan says:

    I just learned about The Heroes Guide. I don’t read much middle grade (there are so many YA and adult books I need to read!), but I plan to read this series! I also enjoyed The Art of Fielding and I have See You at Harry’s at home, but I keep hearing it’s a tearjerker and I don’t know if I can do that right now. Here is my list http://wp.me/pzUn5-13b

  6. Crystal says:

    I loved Boy+Bot too and can’t wait to share it at school in the fall. I hadn’t heard of The Art of Fielding and will have to put it on my TBR pile. Thanks!

  7. Earl says:

    Two people in as many days have been talking to me about The Art of Fielding, which is probably a good indication that I should read it. I, too, enjoyed The Quiet Book and The Loud Book. And I may pick up Finders Keepers next for my Caldecott challenge!

  8. YAY! Loved The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom and cannot wait to read more from Chris Healy. Also, love love love Boy + Bot and the Quiet Book/Loud Book combo. Such great reads for you this week!

    Have a fabulous reading week and if you get a chance stop by There’s A Book to see what I’m up to as well. 🙂

  9. Maria says:

    Boy + Bot was a hit with my little girl, too! I just finished See You at Harry’s, though I had to take a break because wowzer… that’s an emotional read. And LOVED Hero’s Guide. One of my favorite more recent reads. I kept laughing out loud and then reading parts to my husband. So much fun!

  10. Love Loud Book and Quiet Book! They are such well designed books.
    You’ll love Hero’s Guide- it is SO much fun! And I’m glad you got your hands on Harry’s as it is brilliant.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  11. Oh, I keep hearing about that Hero’s Guide. Will have to look it up. And Harry.
    I too love the Quiet and Loud books. So clever!
    PS Isn’t Wonder awesome? And I see you liked Ivan as well. I will have to come back and virtually visit. Good luck with the Caldecott challenge!

  12. I adored Hero’s Guide! You’ll love it 🙂 Waterless Mountain was a quick read. Not too bad – except for the blatant stereotyping. But I’ve gotten used to that in these early Newbery books so I just notice it and continue reading.

  13. Lorna says:

    I’m actually struggling a lot to sit with Waterless Mountain. I’ll read a couple pages and realize I don’t recall any of what I’ve read! I’m sure some of that is my tired, very distracted brain of late, but some of that is got to be book. I’ll keep plugging away!

  14. Lorna says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Angie! Yes, we are enjoying Wonder a lot. So many great talking points to discuss with our kids.

  15. Lorna says:

    Maria–I’ve since finished Harry’s and it is indeed tough, though I thought Jo Knowles did a beautiful job capturing the magnitude of all that sorrow, guilt, and anger. I definitely have to pick some perkier books for a bit. Hero’s Guide should be a good one for that purpose when my daughter passes it on to me!

  16. Kathryn says:

    The only books I am familiar with are: Wonder which I intend to read again by reading aloud to my class, starting mid July, and I finished See You at Harry’s a few weeks ago. Great reading both of them.

    I bet you just love it when your daughter ‘steals’ your book. It must warm your heart!
    Happy reading
    Kathryn

  17. Lorna says:

    Yes, Kathryn! Cheers to pint-sized book thieves! 🙂 Wonder is indeed a great book to share. What age do you teach?

  18. Tami says:

    Glad to hear you liked The Art of Fielding. I requested it for Christmas, but it’s still sitting on my dresser. It seems kind of large and daunting. 🙂 But I’ll move it up on the list.

  19. Lorna says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Tami! I hope you like The Art of Fielding!

Leave a Reply

