Ready! Set! Read!: 2012 Summer Book-A-Day Challenge

Who’s in? Are you up for the Book-A-Day Challenge?

This will be my second summer participating in Donalyn Miller’s Book-A-Day challenge, and this is my kick-off week, since my own kids are FINALLY done with school. Donalyn recently explained the Book-A-Day Challenge in a post at the Nerdy Book Club blog. The rules, or guidelines, as Donalyn calls them are simple. Pick a time period, and aim to read on average, one book per day for that period. Document your reading progress somehow be it a hand-written list, a Goodreads shelf, a blog, or Twitter (use the hashtag #bookaday). I’ll be reading a mix of books for children, young adults, and adults. Some with my kids, some just for me. It all counts–picture books, anthologies, chapter books, beach reads, serious reads. Notice the use of average, here. I don’t have time to carve out to read a whole chapter book in a day, so you’ll find lots of picture books will help me reach my goal!

My Book-A-Day Goal: 72 books

My to-be-read (TBR) pile is over 700 books long, so I’m hoping to knock out at least a few titles on the list! I’ll try to get a mix of older titles as part of my Caldecott and Newbery Challenges, as well as newer releases. There will even be some re-reads of old favorites thrown in there, too. Lots to look forward to for my reading time this summer!

Ten books I’m looking forward to reading this summer:

Re-reading–

A few of the other’s I’m looking forward to–

The MBS will be a read-aloud with my 8 year-old

Houng Dog True, will be our next family read aloud.

__________________


Leave a Reply

