07.09.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in, or see what other’s are reading through their posted links.

The sun is FINALLY out in Seattle, so lots of cheers for reading outside. I crafted many a shaded reading area this last week for me or the girls either on the deck or at the park. I’m plugging away on my Book-A-Day Challenge, though admittedly there’s a lot of picture books in there.

Book-A-Day Challenge: 72 books

Read to date: 22 books

Below are some highlights from my reading week!

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Picture Books

I finished this stack for the Caldecott Challenge . . . more to come on my thoughts from these mostly 1950s books later in the week.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Books for Beginning Readers

                        

The first two books in this series are filled with lots of humor overlaying some genuine tales of friendship. It reminds me in many ways of the Frog and Toad series. I’d describe these books as something beyond the easiest of easy readers. The books have repetitive format sentences that are perfect for emerging readers’ confidence, but also lots of great vocabulary to pull them along as well. Like the Frog and Toad books, the books each contain smaller stories or chapters. (Candlewick Press/2010 and 2012)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Terrific Non-fiction

A great non-fiction picture book biography on the creative genius behind the Muppets and Sesame Street. Perfectly geared towards younger readers with plenty of interesting facts, but not overwhelming. Nice illustrations accompany the text.  (Random House/2011)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Another great example of excellent non-fiction in a picture book format. This shares how one man took chewing gum to the next level. Perfect for Kindergarten – 2nd grade, though older kids will love the story too! Be sure to check out the author’s additional facts section at the back of the book. (Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books/2011)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Middle Grade Novel

This book is great fun. With its tongue-in-cheek campiness and sarcasm laced with familiar characters and storylines from fairy tales, kids will gobble this one up. Lots of laugh out loud moments paired with some nice evolving friendships between very different characters make for a nice balanced read. I’d recommend for 4th graders and up, or perhaps third graders if done as a read aloud. (Walden Pond Press/2012)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ongoing Reading Adventures:

Current read aloud with Tall and Small

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next in line:

Do you ever have a craving to re-read a book? This week, I’m pining for an old familiar friend in Charlotte’s Web. After that, I think I’ll pick up The Friendship Doll.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On the Blog this Week

Don’t miss my review and give-away tomorrow of a great new book for toddlers and preschoolers!

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

11 comments on “07.09.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I think we like a lot of the same books. I have The Hero’s guide on my TBR list & am looking forward to it because so many of you are saying how good it is. I need to find some of the Bink & Gollie books because I’m trying to learn more about the books good for beginning readers. Thanks for this! And, a biography of E.B. White came out last year that I loved, The Story of Charlotte’s Web. You might want to look it up! Happy Reading!

  2. I love the non-fiction selections you talk about here. I will definitely have to look for them…both sound like they might be good mentor texts for writing for middle school.

  3. Kathryn says:

    The Hero’s Guide to Saving the Kingdom sounds like a fun read. I love E B White and defintely worth a reread.
    Happy reading.
    Kathryn

  4. Ms. Yingling says:

    Loved Charlotte’s Web but didn’t read Stuart Little until a couple of years ago. Right now I have a huge craving to read the Melendy Family books again and may give in!

  5. Lorna says:

    @Linda–yes, I totally think we’d have to start a book club if we were anywhere close to each other!

  6. Lorna says:

    @Andrea–I do think they’d be excellent mentor texts on how you don’t have to include every daily detail for a successful biography!

  7. Lorna says:

    And yes, Linda, I do want to pick up that EB White biography. Such an interesting writing life!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Ms Yingling – I LOVE the Melendys and most certainly want to be one of them. Perfect summer read! 🙂

  9. Wow, some great books last week and ahead of you! Have a great week!

  10. Great reading this week Lorna!
    I have not read the second Bink and Gollie yet, I really need to get that.
    I LOVE Sesame Street and the Muppets- I am going to have to get my hands on the Jim Henson book.
    I am so glad you liked Hero’s Guide. I really loved that book- it made me laugh out loud.

    Enjoy your reading this week! 🙂

  11. Yay for Hero’s Guide (I don’t know how many times I’ve said that now…) I also want to read The Friendship Doll…after I get through the tons of other books on my pile. Which I’ve added to yet again today. Oh well. A good problem to have!

Leave a Reply

