07.16.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to join in, or see what other’s are reading through their posted links.

Ah . . . just rolling off of a weekend of camping that involved some waits at the ferry line or on the boat, so lots of great reading time recently! Check out some of my highlights from the last week below!

Book-A-Day Challenge: 72 books

Read to date: 30 books

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Picture Books

This is a wonderful picture book with limited text and delightful illustrations. A lovely, powerful message about looking for the little moments in life to celebrate, which is probably best appreciated by older kids and adults. Interest level grade 4-up. (2012/Enchanted Lion Books)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This one will certainly remind you of Mr. Popper’s Penguins. Clever ending had me quickly going back to re-read for some clues. Interest level K-3. (2012/Dial Books)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Check out my review posted last week for this fun interactive board book. Great lift, pull, spin fun for toddlers and preschoolers. (2012/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Terrific Non-fiction

A sweet biography on Julia Child’s cat. Just enough details about Julia, while maintaining a kid-friendly focus on the cat. Interest level: Grade 2-4. (2012/Abrams)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kids will be pouring over the images and facts in this one. Good for second grade and up. (2011/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Graphic Novel

Yes, she’s a girl, but Zita will be admired by girls and boys a like. She is brave and smart, and a nemesis to the alien bad guys. Interest level: 3rd-7th grade. (2011/First Second)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Middle Grade Novel

A re-read. Still one of my most favorite books of all time. It is a special book that stands up so well after sixty years. (1952/HarperCollins)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A story told partly from a doll’s point-of-view as she crosses paths with some very different girls in the 1920s and 1930s. I must admit it took me a bit to get into this, probably because I didn’t connect with the first very bratty child very well, but I really liked the story of the last few girls. I’m curious to hear what other readers thought. (2011/Delacourte)

Ongoing Reading Adventures:

Current read aloud with Tall and Small

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Adult biography

Twitter friend, and fellow reader Linda B. suggested I read this biography on E.B. White. Loving it so far.

Next in line . . .

Young adult. It will be my fist John Green.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1933 Newbery. Trying to get excited to read this one . . .

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

10 comments on “07.16.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Beth Shaum says:

    Glad you liked Minette’s Feast!

    And get your tissues ready while reading The Fault in Our Stars! But it’s oh so worth it. Best book I’ve ever read!

  2. Cassie says:

    I will have to come back and see how you liked The Fault in Our Stars. I love all the picture books – some great ideas for my nephew! It’s always easy to buy a child a book. : )

  3. iviedawn says:

    How cool. I used to love Charlotte’s Web. But my younger brother really likes the Warrior series by Erin Hunter, and I promised to read it with him. We’re currently on book 3 of the second series. Warriors: The New Prophecy Book 3 Dawn. But this is great, I’ll have to get some of those picture books for my little cousin. 🙂 Cool blog.

  4. Reblogged this on Keep Calm and Read a Book Blog and commented:
    Something I need to think about myself!

  5. Lorna says:

    Beth: Minette was cute . . . I really tried to LOVE Bon Appetit, but found the format distracting. This was spot on for kids!

  6. Lorna says:

    Hi Cassie–thanks for stopping by! I agree and LOVE to buy books for kids, so I love hearing what’s new, and not likely to be on kids’ shelves when I’m buying a gift. Happy reading!

  7. Lorna says:

    @iviedawn — Thanks for stopping by. Charlotte’s Web is great for sharing, when you’re ready to read it again.

  8. I am sitting here and sighing as I got to Hound Dog True and Fault In Our Stars. Both are great book. Colby and I chatted about Hound Dog True for our I-94 Book Club…after you read, you should check out our conversations. I love Mattie Breen. I love John Green but I think he really hit a home run with Fault In Our Stars. That and Will Grayson, Will Grayson are my two favorites by John Green.

    I love Zita and One Cool Friend, too. One Cool Friend totally had me going back and looking for clues, too! David Small did a great job!

  9. Kathryn says:

    Heaps of great books here! Have read and enjoyed Zita and I have some 12 year olds that would still probably love to read about Minette. Hound Dog True must order!
    Kathryn

  10. I adore Zita! I have Fault in our Stars in my pile, but I doubt I’ll make it to it soon. Tons of SciFi to read for my personal challenge 🙂

Leave a Reply

