08.13.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what other’s are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR

It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, as we were on a “mini-vacation” to Ketchikan, Alaska for a few days last week. The weather, as we were warned, was indeed chilly and rainy, but absolutely perfect for reading! The cabin we rented had a stuffed chair with a lovely view of the bald eagles who nested and soared right outside the cabin. Below are some of my highlights from the last few weeks.

Be sure to stop by tomorrow, if you have a pint-sized fashionista in your life, when I review and do a giveaway for a couple of picture books that are perfect for the back-to-school days on hand.

   

Book-A-Day Challenge: 72 books

Read to date: 52 books

Days into the challenge: 49 days

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Picture Books

A lovely book about the love of books, both the reading of and caring for them. The story is very true to the animated short film if you saw that first. Beautiful illustrations will appeal to even very young readers, but the message will probably be best appreciated by older readers and adults. I confess, the tears well up at the end of this one. (2012/Atheneum Books)

_______________________________

Pete the Cat truly rocks it. I can see why this book and the other Pete books are so wildly popular at story times in classrooms and libraries. You can find your own tune, or look for the free song download. In addition to just being plain fun, it has a great message about just rolling along when the bad stuff happens. Highly recommend it for preschool-third grade.(2012/HarperCollins)

_______________________________

Beautiful illustrations accompany a sweet tale of a girl’s quest to talk to the moon along with her forest friends. The artwork is impressively painted on plywood and will have you lingering over each page. Recommend for grades K-3 (2012/Little Brown Books)

Middle Grade Novels

This book has been adored by many fellow readers on Twitter and Goodreads and I can see why. Carley is removed from an abusive situation and placed into foster care with the Murphy family. She slowly learns to trust others and sees what a healthy family-life looks like. This will have you pulling on your heart-strings. I don’t have any personal first hand knowledge of foster-care, but Lynda Mullaly Hunt gives a beautiful voice to the children and families involved. I’d recommend for 4th-8th grade.

_______________________________

 

I finished the second and third books in this great series that is a hybrid of easier, but not beginner, chapter books and graphic novels. Frankie’s adventuresome spirit and wild imagination make for great reading. Boys will certainly be drawn to them, but my third grade daughter is a huge Frankie fan as well. Recommend for grades 2-4. (2010 and 2011/Simon and Schuster)

_______________________________

I finished this 1934 Newbery winner for my Newbery Challenge. When I left for vacation, the copy of the 1933 winner, Young Fu (see below), was checked out from my library, so I decided to skip ahead a year in my challenge reading. This was a lovely biography about Louisa May Alcott which provides lots of info on her intriguing upbringing and writing career. I imagine for most kids today this would only be appealing to the most ardent of Alcott fans. Adult fans, however, will find this delightfully readable. (Originally published 1933/Little Brown)

Young Adult

On the advice of Jen, one of our hosts for this meme, I set this aside for our Alaska trip, and it indeed made for a fun, light vacation read. Thanks, Jen! Written by two screen writers, this had a bit of a Ferris Bueller meets The Hangover mashup feel to it as a group of teens ends up on an outrageous road trip to Mexico. Lots of teen drinking, so pass judgement as you will, but light and entertaining for high school readers. (2012/Hyperion)

Ongoing Reading Adventures:

Finishing this one . . .

I’m enjoying this funny, snarky, and quirky story for middle grade readers.

Next in line . . .

For the Newberry Challenge, 1933 Medal winner. This is truly in my library bag in the living room. No excuses . . . getting to it this week.

And when I finish that, I’ve got some other great books to choose from!

 

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

21 comments on “08.13.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hard not to adore One for the Murphys isn’t it? I still get shivers every time I read about someone new loving it. I have a Frankie Pickle fan club in my room (Grade 2/3). I only have the first two. I need to get the third one!

  2. Fantastic list of books! Love Pete the Cat. Jealous of your tbr pile. Capture the Flag and The Great Unexpected. Hoping to get my hands on them sometime soon! Oh and One for the Murphys is still sticking with me a month later.

  3. Lorna says:

    Yes, Carrie! OFtM is haunting!

  4. Lorna says:

    Debbie–my 8 year old and I keep walking around singing “My belly button, my belly button” to that funny tune. Great fun!

  5. I really enjoyed From What I Remember and will be reading The Templeton Twins soon! 🙂

  6. Katya says:

    My younger son just started reading books on the Kindle and I don’t have a lot of books for him but you just reminded me that I have a Frankie Pickle book he can read. And his nickname is Pickle so it will be perfect.

  7. Lorna says:

    @Katya–does your library lend e-books for the Kindle? Ours does and actually has lots of series books that appeal to kids 8-10. Not sure the age of your son, but that’s a great resource for us!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Kristen–thanks for stopping by. The Templeton Twins is silly good fun!

  9. Katya says:

    That’s a great idea. Our library doe e-lend books… I should take out some for my son through his account because I always have my e-book loans maxed out (you can only have 4 books out at a time).

  10. Lorna says:

    @Katya–that 4 book limit is a bummer. Our library does 20 books, and now even lets you “return” a book if you finish it early to free up your limits.

  11. So many good books! I particularly want to read Invincible Louisa and From What I Remember. Have heard surprisingly great things about both!

  12. Maria says:

    Oooh, I’m a little jealous of your reading this week! Fantastic Flying Books, Templeton Twins….

    and I’ll check back tomorrow for your fashionista reviews, since I’ve got a 3yo teenager living in my house 😉

  13. Lorna says:

    Yes, Hannahlily–Invincible Louisa was a pleasant surprise after the slog that is those early years for the Newbery. FWIR is campy, but fun.

  14. Lorna says:

    Yes, it’s a nice bit of reading. Please do swing by tomorrow to meet our friend hippo. Too cute!

  15. Lots of good books here, Lorna. I’m glad you loved One for The Murphys. It’s really a treasure. I love the look of The Red Knit Cap Girl, will definitely look for it. I liked Fake Mustache & have Capture The Flag on a stack waiting. We do like many of the same books. I’ll look for The Templeton Twins too! Thanks for all! Your vacation sounds wonderful since I’ve been here in Colorado sweltering! It’s cooler today thank goodness!

  16. Ms. O says:

    I’m trying to remember if I’ve ever read Invincible Louisa. I think not. There are so many good books I want to read … and summer vacation is over on Thursday. Will still read, of course, but won’t have nearly the time.

  17. Lorna says:

    The Red Knit Cap Girl is very sweet . . . a wordier version of Kevin Henkes First Full Moon. Being from the Pacific NW, our summers are definitely on the mild side, so we try not to grumble too loud about the weather knowing what the rest of the country is dealing with this summer. It will be uncharacteristically in the 90s here later in the week, which is always a drag in this air conditioner-free land. To the movies or mall, we go! 🙂

  18. Myra GB says:

    Hi there Lorna, I envy your time in Alaska and the cold and the fact that you can read to your heart’s content while snuggled up cozy. How very idyllic. You have lots of great titles here, and I admire you for going through the Newbery Medal challenge chronologically. We’re approaching it by themes not by year – depending on which book would fit our current bimonthly theme. We haven’t made much headway in the challenge unfortunately, but we hope to remedy that in the future. My eye was caught as well by the Templeton Twins – I like books with multiple protagonists – kids who are smart and ingenious. Will look into that one. 🙂

  19. Yay for From What I Remember…!!!! I gave it to my neighbor to read and she zipped through it and loved it, too. I think it’s going to have to be a staple reread at the beginning of the summer for me. 🙂

    I just added The Flying Books PB to my TBR. It looks wonderful! I’m so excited to check that one out!

  20. Lorna says:

    @Jen–I agree FWIR is a great summer read! And I predict you will adore The Flying Books.

  21. Lorna says:

    @Myra — Thanks for stopping by! I love your approach to reviewing the Newbery books! That’s a great way to look at perspective on this books as compared to other similarly themed books. Yes, Alaska was a nice cool respite. We’re looking at the 90s here in Seattle (crazy hot for here) later in the week in a nearly no air conditioning town. Will have to head to the library to enjoy their AC! 🙂

Leave a Reply

