08.20.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what other’s are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

This last week was definitely not the most productive week of reading, but it was filled with Seattle-area summertime fun, including a marvelous camping trip in the North Cascades with several other families. We’re into the home stretch of summer break with school just over two weeks away, but there is still lots of time left for reading.

FYI–today is the last day to enter my give-away for two darling picture books great for preschool-early primary grades. I draw a winner today at 3 pm PT: Review and entry form

   

Book-A-Day Challenge: 72 books

Read to date: 60 books

Days into the challenge: 56 days

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Picture books I really enjoyed last week . . .

A cute book about a frog who finds a beautiful but silent bird, whom he is certain is lost. With the help of other animal friends along the way, he helps the bird find his true home, and his voice. With rather similar plot lines, I prefer this one to When Blue Met Egg that I read last week. I love Stead’s loose, sketchy illustrations. Recommend for grades 1-4. (2012)

_______________________________

Beautifully illustrated this is a nice story about love for a book. A book once adored, becomes abandoned at the library before it is found once again by a girl who loves it dearly. I love the role of the library in the story. Recommend for grades K-3. (2012)

_______________________________

Other picture books I read:

Poetry (2012)

_______________________________

Cute, but I’m a bigger fan of Schmid’s other books. (2012)

_______________________________

Primary aged kids will love Bliss’s funny, funny illustrations. (2011)

Funny books for the middle grades:

I thought this was a fun book, though I sense kids will either like it or they won’t. It is a smart and funny and often sarcastic book, courtesy of a highly involved narrator. My youngest daughter, who is 8, thought this was a riot and loved to share parts of this mildly outrageous plot. My older daughter, 10, didn’t like it, and walked away. I, myself, tired of the narrator a bit by the end, but I can see how many kids who like that style of humor will love it. The book uses extensive illustrations and that really add to the story-telling. I think selling this in the classroom with a book talk that includes the book trailer and perhaps snippets of text would give kids a good idea of what to expect from this. Recommend for snarky humor lovers in grades 3-7.

_______________________________

I finished this as an audio book with my family over the course of a couple of long car drives and it was great fun. Like with any short story collection, some stories were stronger than others, but overall it is a terrific collection. I know they are edited to appeal to boys, which is fantastic, but my two daughters and I loved it, as did my husband. Terrifically narrated by a handful of outstanding readers including Bronson Pinchot. Recommend for older kids in grade 3, or 4th grade and up. (2010)

This week’s Reading Adventures:

Finishing this one . . .

1933 Newbery medal winner. While not completely engrossing, I’m enjoying this one more than I thought I would.

And when I’m done, I hope to enjoy at least two of these reportedly delightful books!

 

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

9 comments on “08.20.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hi Lorna, I don’t see you on the meme, just an FYI! Thanks for all of these. I’m glad you liked The Lonely Book. I just checked out The Library which is also about books & libraries. Have you seen it discussed too? I like the look of The Home Bird-will put it on my lists. And FYI-I loved Fake Mustache, but also have Capture The Flag & need to read it, too. Lots of good ones in your post today! Thanks.

  2. Wasn’t The Lonely Book beautiful? The story is so touching, but the illustrations are what did it for me. Gorgeous.

    I haven’t read the Guys Read: Funny Business. Will need to check that one out!

  3. I have skimmed through A Home for Bird at the bookstore – it looks lovely. Now you have me very curious about the Templeton Twins -would like to test it on my children to see if they like it. Love audio books for the long car rides. We are currently listening to The False Prince and everyone is loving it.

  4. Kathryn says:

    Hmm I must check out the Templeton Twins and I definitely want to read Capture the Flag as well.

  5. Myra GB says:

    Hi there Lorna. You have great titles in here. I’m off to look for The Lonely Book as we’re currently going through a library bimonthly theme until mid of September. I have a feeling it will also be perfect for our next theme which is books about books. The Sharon Creech title looks great too!

  6. Earl says:

    The first two books are titles we’re sharing during Educators Night at our bookstore. The Templeton Twins seems to be a love it/hate it book!

  7. I love sarcastic books, so The Templeton Twins seems right up my alley.
    I love Guys Read yet haven’t read Funny Business yet though I own it and need to get to it.
    Enjoy your future reading- I loved Capture the Flag an the other two are supposed to be wonderful.
    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  8. Loved Funny Business! I also loved Capture the Flag – enjoy it!

    I love snarky humor, so I’m looking forward to Templeton Twins 🙂

  9. The Lonely Book looks sweet…reminds me a bit of The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. A magical book, too!

Leave a Reply

