08.27.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what other’s are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

More Seattle sunshine and more camping for us this last week, as we try to squeeze in those last few summer adventures before school starts next week. I was able to get in some great picture books, finish a fun novel for middle graders, and make good progress with a Newbery book. I’m on track to finish my Book-A-Day challenge by next Tuesday, with a lot of thanks to my picture book reading. 🙂

Book-A-Day Challenge: 72 books

Read to date: 68 books

Days into the challenge: 63 days

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Picture books I really enjoyed last week . . .

This really is a fantastic imaginative non-fiction book. It is beautifully illustrated with fun rhyming text that is also informative about all the ways that leaves are useful. When you add the author’s terrific explanations and glossary it would make a great addition to a primary classroom’s plant study unit. (2012)

_______________________________

The ever pessimistic rat and always optimistic rabbit make for a fun pair. A great one for kids to practice drawing inferences from the illustrations, as the text for most pages is limited to “Good news” and “Bad news”. Also great for modeling how we react when things go a miss. Great cartoonish-style illustrations. (2012)

_______________________________

Fun to read tale of two robots trying to out-do each other with their costume additions. Lots of fun details to check out on the end papers, too. Perfect for preschool-primary grades. (2012)

_______________________________

Other picture books I read:

 

Funny book for the middle grades:

Crazy good fun for kids happy to suspend disbelieve as the plot is wildly outrageous. The bad guy is actually a kid with a devious plan to take over the country sporting, of course, a fake mustache. My usual Angleberger-loving third grader couldn’t get into this one, but I found it had lots of laugh out loud moments that many kids will enjoy. (2012)

This week’s Reading Adventures:

Continuing these books–

1933 Newbery medal winner. I’m close to finishing . . . really.

_______________________________

I started this one with Tall and she’s loving it, which doesn’t always happen with books I suggest. At her request, we’re finding stolen moments to read it, including her PT exercise time! (2012)

_______________________________

Finishing on audio . . .

I adored the Famous Five books as a kid, and was so excited to find this one on the audiobook shelf at the library for our latest weekend camping road trip drive. The narrator does an awesome job with all the voices and my girls are loving the suspense about the mysterious flashing lights at the signal house. We’ll try to wrap this up this week. (1953)

Upcoming . . .

Dobry is technically the next book I need to read in the Newbery Challenge, but it looks like my library will have to get this one for me via inter-library loan. So in the meantime, I’ll pick up Caddie Woodlawn, the 1936 Newbery winner.

This week I’ll also get to pile of Caldecott picture books from award year 1955.

What are you reading? Have a great reading week!

8 comments on “08.27.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hi Lorna. I’m curious to see what you think of Caddie Woodlawn. It’s a title that so often gets recommended to me and I just got a copy in a box of donated books. Good News Bad News looks great. Looks like a fun title to explore receiving different kinds of news/announcements. It’s all in the reactions!!

  2. I remember liking Caddie Woodlawn, a spunky character, but don’t know how it will hold up to today. I’ll look for your review on Goodreads! All the picture books look good. I still have Capture The Flag on the pile-happy to hear your daughter likes it. Best wishes for a good start to the year. We started last week with students, 2 weeks ago with staff. It’s a new year!

  3. Lorna says:

    Hi Carrie–Caddie will be a re-read from long ago for me. I remember liking it a lot, but I’m guessing some of that was an overwhelming desire to be a pioneer girl like Laura Ingalls. I know for some it hasn’t held up in a contemporary re-read, but I’ll be curious to read it again!

  4. Lorna says:

    Hi Linda–Caddie will be a re-read for me and I too recall loving it. The author spent many of her younger years in Moscow, ID where I grew up and she is revered there. It will be interesting to see how it holds up to the legend in my mind!

  5. Hannahlily says:

    I really loved A Leaf Can Be too! Such a beautiful book. I read Caddie Woodlawn for the first time a few years ago. Some of the attitudes were offputting but Caddie was a great character.

  6. Lorna says:

    Hannahlily–I totally agree with you on A Leaf Can Be . . . it is such a perfect combination of entertaining, beautiful and informative!

  7. I agree with Hannahlily. I liked the idea of Caddie, but some of the gender stuff was definitely dated. I really didn’t like Young Fu much… good luck getting that one done!

  8. ROBOT ZOMBIE FRANKENSTEIN!!!!! I love this book. It makes me laugh. It cracks me up at the end and now whenever someone talks about pie, I think of this book automatically. And then Pie by Sarah Weeks. I am going to predict that you will love Beep and Bah. One of my favorites! So funny! (Especially so as a mom…)

Leave a Reply

