09.17.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what others are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

I admittedly was off my reading game this busy and exhausting week. We had an urgent care visit for our eleven-year old, the soccer playing Tall, who is now on crutches with a possible partial tear in her Achilles and/or a fracture in her tibia. With this, everything we do takes a bit longer and she now needs a bit more of my attention to say the least. The 19-year old cat, who we swore was done getting any sort of medical interventions, went in for surgery to remove and abscessed tooth. I got in my first ever, albeit minor, car accident Friday, on a mission to get books, of course. I remind myself that in the end, all will be fine–young, growing bodies heal, ancient cats somehow keep ticking, and cars find good body shops!

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Picture books

I know that I read a handful of picture books with my youngest, Small, this week at her request instead of our chapter book . . . the titles escape me. Something comforting from our home library. Hmm . . . I may update if I remember them!

Graphic Novels:

More fun with Babymouse . . .

These will be some of the first titles I share with my daughter’s third grade class when I act as the Book Fairy, delivering new-to-their-classroom library-books and book talking them to the class. The newest Babymouse is one of my favorites of the series and I love the parody on the election process. This was my first Squish title. I love Meg the super perky paramecium and the science references are fun, though I wonder if some of the vocabulary may make these books slightly less accessible to younger middle grade readers. I’ll be curious to see their reactions to both titles. (2012 and 2011)

This week’s Reading Adventures:

 

I’m continuing my “adult” read. I think Tana French has sucked me even faster with this title than her other titles, which made for a great read to bring along to doctor’s offices this week. The crime scene is very strange and creepy.

_______________________________

Continuing these read alouds with my girls . . .

Even if I didn’t get a lot of my own reading in this week, I did make some time to read with the girls. Small and I are continuing to sneak in a chapter hear and there of TMBS. We’re reading a library copy, but I just bought Capture the Flag to give to my daughter’s 4th-5th combo class, when I act as Book Fairy. They’ll love it!

_______________________________

Next up:

or

_______________________________

What are you reading? Have a great week!

13 comments on “09.17.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I want book fairies to come to my class! Lovely idea! And perfect choices.

  2. megan says:

    I totally agree with you on the new Tana French. I feel like each of her books have been better than the previous ones. Broken Harbor was amazing and left me wanting more from her. Now.

  3. Hannahlily says:

    I just checked out the first Tana French book from my library (I believe on your recommendation). Can’t wait to read it! Seems like just my type of book. I’m really looking forward to Splendors and Glooms as well.

  4. Myra GB says:

    Hi Lorna, I do hope that you are fine. It’s always worrisome if any of our not-so-little-ones get sick – and it does sound like you had a pretty exciting week. I admire your equanimity, though, and how you take things as they come, as they always do. 🙂

    Confession time: haven’t borrowed any of the babymouse books yet as we are in the thick of things with our books about books theme. Perhaps as soon as the wave has passed, I shall find these titles – if only to be enjoyed by my ten year old who’s deeply into graphic novels. Splendors and Glooms looks lovely! Hope you’re enjoying Benedict Society. One of my absolute favorites. 🙂

  5. Lorna says:

    Carrie–maybe wishes do come true?! 🙂

  6. Lorna says:

    Megan–crime scene details are creeping me out in this one!! It just keeps getting more and more bizarre. Hoping Screecher’s got a handle on it.

  7. Lorna says:

    Thanks, Myra. Indeed, life happens, perhaps not always when and how we expect it! With so many great books in your TBR pile, like Babymouse, you’re ensured to never be far from a good book as time becomes available to you!

  8. Love Babymouse and Squish – that’s the one Babymouse I haven’t read yet. I can’t wait to read Splendor and Glooms!

  9. I’m glad you’re okay, Lorna! And hope all goes well with your daughter. Our last cat lived to be 21-amazing isn’t it? The book fairy idea is so nice. I imagine there are some classes that have loved you because of that. I love the Babymouse for President, like that it brought some ideas for discussion to the younger students. Thanks for telling about all the books.

  10. Maria says:

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Splendors and Glooms. I won an ARC months ago, and read it not knowing what to expect, since it’s not a genre I’d typically pick up for myself. But there are so many twists and turns to the story, it’s hard to put it down! I really enjoyed the read. Hope you do, too!

  11. shannonjoe says:

    I. LOVE. BABYMOUSE. Like really! 🙂

    I am reading a mystery-Next of Kin by Sharon Sala-like it so far.

    I so want to read Capture the Flag-still need to get a copy at BAM.

    Your adult book sounds good-added it to my TBR!

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  12. Earl says:

    I, too, am charmed by you being a book fairy. What a great concept! Hope the kids enjoy the books!

  13. Lorna says:

    Yes, Shannon! Babymouse is fabulous. I will check out your current mystery. Capture the Flag has my daughter screaming for more whenever we wrap up. Lots of end of chapter cliffhangers!

Leave a Reply

