09.24.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what others are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Picture books:

On a recent trip to the library, I brought my Fuse 8’s, Top 100 picture book list with me and found a bunch of titles that I hadn’t read, or didn’t remember reading. Here are some highlights from that pile.

Both of these titles go into the “HOW DID I NEVER READ THESE BEFORE?” pile. A “new” classic and an old classic. (2004 and 1945)

_______________________________

A boy’s wonderful imagination has his beloved action figure take some exciting adventures. Told in several panels on each page, this book would be great to demonstrate how we read comics and graphic novels. I know a few nephews who might like this one. (2005)

_______________________________

Other picture books:

This title jumped out at me from the New Picture Book shelf at the library with it’s super eye-catching cover. I liked the illustrations, and enjoyed the flip of focusing on the Dead’s perspective on the Day of the Dead celebrations. Kids familiar with the celebration might enjoy this one, though I found the story and dialogue, in particular, really awkward. In a quick Twitter council, I conferred with Alyson Beecher, who is much more knowledgeable on Latino literature and culture. She too agreed it was a great idea that just didn’t execute well. (2012)

_______________________________

Middle Grade Mystery

If my 11 year-old’s reaction to this is any indicator, kids third grade and up are going to love this one. Lots of fun and action wrapped up in the mysterious disappearance of the original “Star Spangled Banner” from the Smithsonian. Many chapters end in suspenseful cliff-hangers which make this one great as a read aloud. My daughter would scream in protest when I tried to stop reading this one aloud at the end of the day. (2012)

This week’s Reading Adventures:

Continuing . . . 

 . . . My adult mystery from Tana French and TMBS (still!) as a read-aloud with my youngest. I also just started Splendor and Glooms (2012) which so far is sucking me in with it’s dark and spooky characters. I have no idea how the two story lines are going to merge, but I can’t wait read how it all comes together. The darker, more sinister mood for this one definitely strikes me as best suited for upper grade school and middle schoolers.

_______________________________

Next up:

This 1935 Newbery should be next, but how can I read that when, these far more intriguing books are in the book bag:

Described as Harry Potter with political intrigue. (2012)

_______________________________

A graphic novel that is a fantasy adventure geared towards older grade school and middle schoolers. The artwork looks amazing. (2012)

_______________________________

Do share what you are reading. Have a great week!

10 comments on “09.24.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I love your idea of a “HOW DID I NEVER READ THESE BEFORE?” pile. I recently picked up The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf. It’s currently in my book to be read pile, but I just can’t believe I’ve never read it before! There is something special about classic books that can sometimes transcend decades and generations and become loved by new readers everyday. Thanks for reminding us of that!

  2. megan says:

    I loved Broken Harbor! I have been on an adult graphic novel kick lately and have been neglecting the teen ones. Cardboard is definitely on my list.

  3. Beth S. says:

    I really need to read Capture the Flag. So many people are raving about it.

  4. I keep hearing about Splendors & Glooms-will need to check it out, Lorna. We have Green Sheep (+ a real stuffed one) for the granddaughters, & I’ve know The Carrot Seed for a long time, & the 3 year old loves it. I have loaned my Capture The Flag to a middle grade teacher, but still need to read it. You have a terrific list here-so fun to see. Thank you!

  5. I am such a Traction Man fan! This book so beautifully celebrates pretend play and you are right, perfect to set kids up for reading graphic stye books. Looking forward to seeing what you think of The False Prince. Mem Fox was my go to author when my children were little. Where is the Green Sheep was one of many favourites. I think I had all of them memorized!

  6. Lorna says:

    Carrie-My favorite Mem Fox to read aloud is the Magic Hat. Anytime somebody says “it moves like this”, I break out in the still memorized text! I bet there’s going to be a ton of kids of this era who will say, my favorite book was “XYZ” by Mem Fox. A kidlit icon, for sure! I too am excited to get to The False Prince. Now to work some magic on getting more reading time.

  7. Lorna says:

    Linda-I love how The Carrot Seed is so simple in it’s concept that it can be appreciated by young and older readers for very different reasons!

  8. Lorna says:

    Beth–it’s nice to have some mystery options for the middle graders. My 5th grader is in a Nancy Drew rut, which really isn’t a bad thing, but it’s nice to have some other choices that entertain out there!

  9. Myra GB says:

    Hi Lorna, I know what you mean about Ruth Krauss. I just bought her A Hole is to Dig – a collaboration with Maurice Sendak! 🙂 The Dead Family Diaz looks like something that would appeal to me – I shall look for that one. And Mem Fox – that’s love too. 🙂 I have yet to check out her other works, but I’m sure they’d be astounding. 🙂

  10. Katya says:

    My son read Capture the Flag in May and he loved it so much he woke up Saturday morning at 6am to finish reading it (which, for a tween, is unheard of).

    I read The False Prince in June. At first I had a bit of trouble getting into it because I didn’t like the main character… but then once I saw where the story is going I absolutely loved the book.

Leave a Reply

