10.29.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what others are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

A couple of super busy weeks on my end have meant that it’s been a couple of weeks since my last posting. The volumes haven’t been mind-boggling, but I do feel like I’m carving out time to read more, which for me is great!

In other bookish news, the Book Fairy made her monthly visits to the Third Grade and Fifth Grade Classes. The third grade visits were especially fun, as I introduced Babymouse and Squish to many new kids. One mom came up to me the next day and said, “Okay, who is this Book Fairy? A—- (her son) came home and specifically talked about the Book Fairy, and this Babymouse book. And he never wants to read.” Another boy, also declared, after I encouraged them not to be afraid of the pink covers, “I don’t fear the pink.” Hooray for author’s who make great books easy to book talk!


Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Favorite Picture books:

Brightly colored illustrations and a fun paced rhyming text make this one fun to read aloud. Randy is not the finest of baseball players, but he is clever and creative. It reminds me a lot of another science-rhyming picture book that I love, Martian Rock. Recommend for Kindergarten – third grade. (2012)

_______________________________

Oh, lordy! Did Michael Ian Black interview my youngest daughter for research on the potato in this book? She is the queen of “I’m bored!” Fun, fun. The premise: one little girl is so bored, but meets a potato who finds things even more boring, especially kids. The girl quickly comes to the defense of kids, as she tries to prove they’re not boring. Great for kindergarten and up. Yep, even those big bored kids, too. (2012)

_______________________________

Lovely illustrations, and brief text that builds as more and more animals get stuck in a hole. I think this would be a great buddy read for older kids to read to younger readers. (2012)

Other books I finished:

This was a super interesting non-fiction book for older readers (middle school and up) about women who underwent astronaut training and all the discrimination they endured in the 1960s. Lots of great photos and original source material. (2009)

_______________________________

Humor loving middle grade readers will enjoy this one. A group of kids in a middle school form a secret prank club. While the kids are sixth graders, I think kids third grade and up will have some giggles with this one. (2012)

_______________________________ 

1935 Newbery winner. A quiet book about a boy in a small agricultural village who dreams of being an artist. I wish there had been a note somewhere in the book to indicate that the story was based on a real Bulgarian artist, as I think that would have affected how I interpreted certain events.

_______________________________

For older teens and adults: Fantastic and easily my favorite since her first Dublin Murder Squad novel. (2012)

Finished on audio:

I wasn’t sure about this one at first, but I really enjoyed this story of thirteen characters whose lives intersect via a community garden. The audio book cast was phenomenal and I think really enhanced the story and rich character backgrounds for me. Probably best appreciated by middle schoolers and up. (1999)

This week’s Reading Adventures:

Finish . . .

Just a few more pages to go in this 1937 Newbery winner

Up next:

I’ve had a hankering for some historical fiction.

_______________________________

The Book Fairy plans to delivery this to the 4th/5th grade classroom soon.

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

9 comments on “10.29.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Beth S. says:

    I LOVED Seedfolks!!

    I’m Bored is currently waiting for me on the hold shelf at the library. Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Oh, I want to read I’m Bored and Pickle, too. I also have had on my list, Hattie Big Sky. I will be interested to see what you have to say about it. 🙂

    My Update for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  3. What a great reading list! I love so many of those but Oh, No! And Cloak Society are new favorites. 🙂

  4. I really want to get my hands on I’m Bored and Oh No! I’m pleased that you enjoyed Seedfolks It has been recommended to me a few times. Maybe I should look for it on audio!

  5. Terrific list, Lorna. I am excited to find Oh No and I’m Bored, and Pickle is turning up often enough I’d better find it, too. I have taught Seedfolks in a reading group that examined writing about characters, and working together, of course. I’d love to listen to it, too! Fleischman is great. Thanks for telling about all your books.

  6. msyingling says:

    Looking forward to Pickle, and LOVED The Cloak Society. Seedfolks wasn’t successful here — I don’t know that we even still have a copy.

  7. Definitely want Cloak Society! Maybe once I whittle down the rest of my list. And the “Almost Astronauts” will definitely hit my list sooner rather than later. What a perfect blend of the things that intrigue me.

  8. Katya says:

    I was just looking at Pickle the other day because my son’s nickname is Pickle and I wanted to get him a pickle-themed basket of gifts for Christmas. I’m so glad to see a positive review.

  9. Lorna says:

    It’s a lot of fun! Hope he enjoys his pickle gifts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

