11.19.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what others are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

I was having a hard time clicking with my chapter book this week, so I tended to gravitate towards some graphic novels in my book bag, which turned out great as I enjoyed all of them a lot. Come back to my blog later in the week as I begin my by request, Favorite Books of 2012, posts. I will kick off with my favorite picture books on Tuesday.

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I hope it is a lovely holiday wherever and however you celebrate. I know I’m looking forward to a relaxed week, with hopefully lots of family time and reading time!

Click on the cover images for the synopsis of each book.

Beginning Chapter Book:

A sweet and fun story where Maggie finds the right horse for her, and where Bramble, the stubborn horse, finds the right girl for him. Perfect for those kids who are ready to move beyond the harder easy readers. Lots of familiar sight words, but also some bigger words to challenge developing readers. Sweet, colorful illustrations fill the pages to support the reader as well. This one reminds me of another early chapter book series, Keeker and the Sneaky Pony. Great for K-3 graders. (2012)

_______________________________

Graphic Novels:

This was my first Dav Pilkey (also of Captain Underpants fame) book and I can see why these humor-filled (sometimes of the potty variety!) books are such hits with the kids. While I know the grammatical errors are purposeful and support that the story is narrated by kids, it irritates me in the same finger-nails on a chalkboard type way that the Junie B. Jones books do. Oh well, read on kids! For 1st grade and up. (2011)

_______________________________

This is a longer graphic novel book with a well-developed story about Rapunzel after her escape from the tower as she seeks revenge against the woman she thought was her mother. I love the strong, sassy, and determined Rapunzel. Lots of adventure might just draw the boys into reading this as well. Great for upper grade school and middle school. (2008)

_______________________________

I LOVED this book! Cam’s dad, who is down and out on his luck and life, gives his son a gift of some magical cardboard for his birthday. The cardboard creature they create changes them both in ways they could never expect. I loved the character development, especially of the dad and the neighborhood bully, which while predictable, are well-played out. Lots of great action scenes, which for younger readers might be a little intense, so I’d recommend this for upper grade school and older. (2012)

_______________________________ 

This Week’s Reading Adventures:

Finish–

I’m not doing this one justice with only short bursts of time to read. With more time, I think I will get into the rhythm of the story, which alternates two, so far, unrelated story lines. (2012)

Other books–

My pile 1955 Caldecott Books still await me.

_______________________________

My third grader’s giggles over Nanny Piggins have me chomping to read this one. (2010)

_______________________________

We will also being doing an audio book for our Thanksgiving car travel plans, though the family has yet to come to consensus on just what to choose. Hmm, what will the Chief Packer get into the car??

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

11 comments on “11.19.12: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Laurie says:

    Rapunzel’s Revenge is the most fought over book in my classroom! Thanks for your list, I have put a bunch on hold at the library.

  2. Sarah says:

    Cardboard has been sitting in my reading pile for far too long. One of these days…

  3. I just got The Great Unexpected on audio-soon I will start. I know what you mean about the short bursts, though. I just have so much in the day that it’s hard to find a length of time to read. Maybe this weekend? Thanks for the update on more graphic novels, Lorna. I am not always drawn to them, so good to have some on your list! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Myra GB says:

    Hi there Lorna! I haven’t read any of Dav Pilkey’s Captain Underpants series – and this one is unfamiliar to me too. I know what you mean though about how grating even-the-most-purposeful grammatical errors can be in a narrative. I remember that there was only this one book when the ‘errors’ seemed to flow naturally for me – The Savage by David Almond and Dave McKean. Have you read that one yet?

    More love for Sharon Creech! I am envious! I should find this book soon, but I know I still have a lot on my plate at the moment. Going over all these Monday posts from book enthusiasts though energizes me to read read read and read more!

  5. I’m especially interested in the Rapunzel book. I love to get students to think about alternative endings and how the damsel in distress can become a more independent heroine! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Lorna says:

    @Sarah–I was surprised by how much I enjoyed Cardboard. I know what you mean about too many books, and not enough time!

  7. Lorna says:

    I’m not familiar with The Savage, will have to look that one up. I kept wanting to point out all the grammatical errors to my daughter, but of course realize that would be such a buzz kill to a book that she was enjoying. All of your projects and themes keep you very focused, but its nice to know that books like Creech’s works await when time allows!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Linda–I’ll be curious to hear your review of the audio. I love the accents of the characters and do think she writes such lovely dialogue.

  9. Lorna says:

    @laurie—I can see why Rapunzel is such a hit. A great balance of admirable character and action rich storyline.

  10. Awesome! I love Rapunzel’s Revenge, and I have Cardboard on my list.

  11. Earl says:

    I’ll have to add Rapunzel’s Revenge and Cardboard to my list. Sharon Creech has also been recommended to me by the customers who come in the bookstore where I work so I should check out her book(s) soon.

Leave a Reply

