02.11.13: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Check out Jen and Kellee’s site to see what others are reading through their posted links. You can also find posts from folks using the hashtag #IMWAYR on Twitter.

I declare: “Keep calm, and read on!”

Today’s post is short and quick as more health issues continue to rear their ugly heads in my family. Since January the vocabulary list for my little family has included things like juvenile dermatomyositis (JDM), flu (times 2), nasty colds, pink eye, mammograms (times 2), and in the last week with our eight year old, Small: “pneumonia, no wait, not pneumonia, asthma. We think.” Today’s fun included a long appointment at the doctor’s office included Albuterol breathing treatments and steroids as we try to get to the bottom of this latest scare and decide if there is any connection to her “mild” JDM diagnosis, or just some weird coincidence . The cool part was that while we waited and while I administered extensive Albuterol treatments today, we read and then we read some more. We finished The Books of Elsewhere: The Shadows. Thanks goodness for read alouds! At this point, I’m hoping that the extent of medical events in our family are along the lines of paper cuts. Yes, paper cuts from books.

Here’s some of the brief highlights from my reading for the last week.

Picture Books

_______________________________

Written by Mary Logue and Illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski

Caldecott Honor 2013

(2012)

Lovely bedtime story with stunning art.  I’d love to hear Zagarenski talk about her process.

_______________________________

Middle Grade Novels 

Advance Reader Copy of The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle

by Christopher Healy

Release Date: 4/30/13

This is great fun and an excellent second book in the series of loveable and laughable Princes Charming. More to come on this one later, as I’ll be delivering this and the first book as the Book Fairy to my oldest’s 4th/5th grade class soon. Thanks to Walden Pond Press for the ARC!

_______________________________

Read Aloud

The Shadows (The Books of Elsewhere, Book 1)

By Jacqueline West

(2010)

Exciting, suspenseful and sometimes even downright scary! 11-year old Olive and her family move into a big old house with a secret to keep and some magic. Olive is strong and resourceful as she faces the darkness accessed through the paintings in the house. A great middle grade novel, and an excellent read aloud but not for those who are easily scared!

_______________________________

Listened to . . . 

Henry and Beezus

By Beverly Cleary

(1952)

Some of Small’s sick-bed audio books played in the background as I rambled around the house this past week. I’ve read this before but listened to this on audio, and as always, I am completely charmed by Henry and the gang. I want to move to Klickitat Street.

_______________________________

Ongoing . . . 

I just need 20 more minutes to finish this one, please. Maybe I can lock myself in the laundry room? So good, and I totally surprised myself at how much I am enjoying this one.

_______________________________

Upcoming . . .

_______________________________

 

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

3 comments on “02.11.13: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. carriegelson says:

    Lorna I am so sorry about all of these health problems/issues plaguing you and your family – no fun at all. Hoping that soon everyone is feeling better and that you get some answers. We were all home with a bad cold, not quite flu this last 5 days and I like you, used books to center us and keep things calm. Only problem is my voice wasn’t holding out. I hope you get a chance to finish Every Day – I really enjoyed that title. I’m adding The Shadows to our future read alouds list. We are just loving The Emerald Atlas. Our children seem to share similar tastes in read alouds 🙂 All the best to you and your family.

  2. Lorna says:

    Hi, Carrie! Thanks! Hope you and your family are on the mend, too. Still trouble shooting with our little one today and hoping it doesn’t impact our vacation to Whistler. Keeping our fingers crossed . . . and I’ll wave out the window as we roll through Vancouver! 🙂 I agree the family read alouds at our house are very similar. We LOVED the Emerald Atlas on audio and are now enjoying The Fire Chronicle now on audio. We should finish it on our Canada trip!

  3. Earl says:

    I hope the language in your life changes for the better soon! I don’t think there’s one book on your post that I don’t want to read!

Leave a Reply

