03.11.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

Another week gone by without a lot of reading. Now that Tall’s school play, a fun version of Alice in Wonderland, is over, I’m hoping the schedule becomes a bit less hectic. Here’s to celebrating what I did read last week!

Click the book cover’s to be taken to Goodreads for a more complete synopsis of each title.

Middle Grade

Kate Messner scores again with the second installment in her Silver Jaguar Society series. This time the Society’s junior members, José, Henry, and Anna are off to Costa Rica to help save the Society’s treasured Jaguar Cup. Lots of chapter ending cliff hangers await the reader as the kids try to outwit the bad guys in the jungle setting that includes venomous snakes, daunting ravine bridges, and zip lines. I love how the setting in this one presents its own challenges as the story evolves. Messner paints a vivid picture of the rain forest and the author’s note about her research process at the back should not be missed. The students that I share books with as the Book Fairy, loved Capture the Flag, so I’m so excited to hand off the ARC to them. My own fifth grader, who snatched this out of my to-read pile before I could get to it, also gives it a big thumbs up. And for the rest of you, it appears the release date for this one has moved up from April 1st, so look for it soon! (2013)

This week I continue . . .

I know everybody’s saying it, but this one is so worth the all the accolades. Non-fiction done right!

Next up . . .

For the Newbery Challenge . . . The 1941 Newery Medal winner

___________________________________

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

12 comments on “03.11.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Will be curious to find out what you think about Bomb! 🙂

  2. megan says:

    I haven’t gotten to Bomb yet. Between Shades of Gray was wonderful. It’s a tough read, much like code Name Verity, but beautifully written. I learned a lot from that book. I hope you enjoy it.

  3. Beth Shaum says:

    Glad you’re loving BOMB. Have you read the author bio in the back yet? That’s honestly one of my favorite parts of the book.

    And Between Shades of Gray – sigh. Love that book so much.

  4. I should finish Hide and Seek tonight. I started Bomb, but wasn’t really in the mood so I returned it. Maybe another time.

  5. Jennifer says:

    You will love Between Shades of Gray. I use that opening when looking at literary hooks with my students. One of my favorite first lines ever!
    I seriously need to get my hands on Bomb! Everyone is reading it after all of its awards!
    Happy reading this week!

  6. carriegelson says:

    Oh Ruta Sepetys . . . just so talented. Be prepared to be transported to a hard to stomach time and place. But so so worth it! Can’t wait to see what you think! I’ve got to get my 10 year old reading Capture the Flag – think she will love it.

  7. Myra GB says:

    Hi there Lorna, I’ve been seeing a lot of Ruta Sepetys lately – an author that is yet unfamiliar to me – glad to see your thoughts about it though. I didn’t realize that Hide and Seek was actually part of a series, that’s good to know. I can’t wait to sink my teeth into Bomb very soon. Thanks for sharing all this. 🙂

  8. Lorna says:

    I here you Gigi, about how moods sometimes don’t match books. Maybe you’ll wander back to it someday. I’m a huge history buff, so I gravitated to it right away.

  9. Lorna says:

    Yes, Jennifer, I’m so excited to read Between Shades of Gray! And you should totally check out Bomb, I bet some of your high schoolers might be hooked in by the spy elements. There’s one scene I’ve read that is just like a James Bond movie!

  10. Lorna says:

    Yes, Carrie, I’m bracing myself for Sepetys’s book . . . sounds haunting. I’d read a few chapters aloud to your daughter for Capture the Flag. Full of cliff hanger chapters . . . it had my daughter begging for more when we did it as a read aloud.

  11. Lorna says:

    Thanks for stopping by Myra! I am looking forward to Sepetys’s book . . . I hear she’s an amazing writer. Messner’s mystery series is a good one for middle graders. Not overly complex with just the right amount of suspense! And Bomb will be worth the wait, I promise!

  12. Earl says:

    It’s always great when kids are so excited about books! Glad you get to share the magic of reading as a Book Fairy!

Leave a Reply

