03.25.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

Here’s a peek at what I’ve been reading lately, and what is coming up in the reading queue! Thanks for visiting, and do share what you are reading!

Click the book cover’s to be taken to Goodreads for a more complete synopsis of each title.

Picture Books

A bunch of books from 1956 and 1957 for the Caldecott Challenge — look for my post later in the week!

_________________________________________

Middle Grade

I adored this book! Quirky characters pepper an interweaving plot line where little pieces and clues to a larger puzzle are slowly revealed. Some fantastical events appear alongside the mysterious elements of the story, but not enough to deter me, as I’m normally not drawn to fantasy stories. The story takes place in a town where many people have a Talent, which may seem ordinary (spitting or cake making, for example) or magically extraordinary (like floating). Throw in a Talent thief, a long-lost and coveted recipe, a particular suitcase, a mysterious gray suited gentleman, a pet ferret, and cake recipes after most chapters, and you have quite the story. I think it would make a fantastic read aloud for grades 4-6, and strong readers in grades 4-7 will enjoy it on their own. I know I had fun reading things and thinking, “Is that what I think it means?!”, so it’d be fun to share those moments of revelation with a group of kids. I found the story fresh and creative and one that I’m sure I will re-read just to study how it all comes magically together at the end! (2013)

_________________________________________

My adult book . . . 

I enjoyed this, though not as much as School of Essential Ingredients, which is favorite of mine and a great one for bookish-foodies. Like in Essential, Lillian is the center piece around which the other characters move and connect, often with each other. The focus here is not so much on food and cooking as therapy, but more about the life transitions that many of the characters are facing. Bauermeister has very descriptive writing and interesting characters but their individual stories weren’t as compelling to me in this one, except for Isabelle, a woman slowly succumbing to Alzheimer’s. Her imagery of Seattle is lovely. (2013)

_________________________________________

Continuing . . .

My youngest and I are about one-third the way through this and enjoying this adventure/fantasy and wonder how Conner and the boys are going to pull this off!

_________________________________________

Next up . . .

1942 Newbery Medal, for The Newbery Challenge

_________________________________________

This chapter book will be for my next Book Fairy visit to third grade, where I will share it and another one of Jarret Krosoczka’s books from the popular Lunch Lady graphic novel series.

_________________________________________

My eleven-year old couldn’t put this one down, or stop talking about it. I’m glad it’s done making rotations with her friends so that I can get a chance to read it!

_________________________________________

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

9 comments on “03.25.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I like quirky! Will add Tangle of Knots to the TBR list!

  2. I really loved Tangle of Knots and The False Prince! Hope you enjoy them as well.

    The Monster Report

  3. Gigi McAllister says:

    I also enjoyed A Tangle of Knots even though I didn’t think I would. I am currently listening to The False Prince and loving it. The Platypus Squad looks cute. Enjoy your week.

  4. I like the looks of that “Small Medium at Large-fun! I am about to start The False Prince-neat that you are reading it with one of your children. I have lots of fond memories reading with my kids. I have A Tangle of Knots on my TBR list-it does sound good. And I remember A Matchlock Gun fondly from a long time ago-I wonder if it will hold up? Thanks for so many Lorna!

  5. Myra GB says:

    I also have an eleven year old girl who’s quite the reader. Will try to find Small Medium at Large for her. I’ve been seeing A Tangle of Knots around – and I like the concept of a ‘talent’ stealer – hmm.. will have to check that out. There is also a lot of love given to Nielsen’s The False Prince – hopefully I get to that before the year ends. 🙂

  6. I just another blogger share Tangle Of Knots, already added it to my TBR. Looks fun. *happy dance* for False Prince. Love that book. I’ve been reading Platypus Police Squad all day and it’s so fun. I was showing it to my 5yo and telling him it was from the same author as Punk Farm and Lunch Lady. So fun that Jarrett is going to have a ladder of his own books!

  7. shannonjoe says:

    I agree with Angie-I like quirky! A Tangle of Knots sounds cute as well as Small Medium at Large even though I don’t usually gravitate toward these kinds of books. 🙂

    I just finished Bud, Not Buddy and am on How to Steal a Dog. Have you read either of those?

    Shannon
    http://www.irunreadteach.wordpress.com

  8. Lorna says:

    @Shannon–I have read Bud, Not Buddy, but not yet How to Steal a Dog. I must confess, that I liked the Mighty Miss Malone better than BNB. I’ve heard that the audiobook for it is very good, so I may have to give it another try. And I hope you do get a chance to check out A Tangle of Knots! I enjoyed it so much, that as soon as I finished it, I started reading it to my own kids.

  9. shannonjoe says:

    I’ll definitely try Tangle. I heard on twitter that the Mighty Miss Malone is about the girl that Bud kissed so I’m very excited to read that one. When I get a chance of course! 🙂

    Shannon

Leave a Reply

