Treat Tuesday! 03.26.13

treatbadge

It’s Tuesday! I am joining in the fun, created by Niki at Daydream Reader, called Treat Tuesday, where we snap a quick photo of what we are reading and a treat we are enjoying. And thanks to Shannon (aka Ms. Houghton) for the meme logo seen above. Inspired by my Twitter pal, Maria, I’m including what my kids are enjoying as well. Follow all the treat fun on Twitter under the hash tag #TreatTuesday.

IMG_1304

The Books and Our Treat!

Small (age 8, third grade)

The BFG by Roald Dahl. Small and I read this together a few years ago, and it was much beloved. The BFG is actually my favorite Roald Dahl book. Now she’s trying it on her own. She just loves Dahl’s word play, and even noted that on the cover of her edition states that Dahl is the “World’s Most Scrumdiddlyumptious Storyteller.” I agree, whole-heartedly.

 

Tall (age 11, fifth grade)

Hold Fast, by Blue Balliett. I haven’t read this one myself, but it is highly reviewed on Goodreads and Twitter by Nerdy Book Club friends. She gobbled up Joan Bauer’s Almost Home yesterday within hours of it coming home from the library. Almost Home is another one I haven’t read, but I do know it’s a pretty powerful look at homelessness and family transitions, elements that are touched upon in Hold Fast. Balliett’s book also has the added plus of being part-mystery, a genre she enjoys.  I’m hopeful that she will like it!

 

Me

Platypus Police Squad: The Frog Who Croaked by Jarrett Krosoczka. This is the first novel by Jarrett, creator of the popular Lunch Lady graphic novel series and The Punk Farm picture books. I’m looking forward to this animal-filled mystery sprinkled with lots of Krosoczka’s illustrations. And speaking of illustrations . . . the ARC copy I have (thanks to Walden Pond Press!) has preliminary art and sketches for the book, but you can get a sneak peek at the final art for the book coming out in early May, here at Betsy Bird’s blog. I’m looking forward to sharing a couple of copies of this book with the third grade class that I am Book Fairy for next month. I predict they’ll love this mystery!

 

 

Hope you’re savoring whatever you are reading and snacking upon!

_______________________________

Recent posts:

It’s Monday — 3/25/13

Book Fairy Visit — Third Grade: Fake Mustache by Tom Angleberger

 

Leave a Reply

