04.15.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

IMG_1473

I’m just rolling off of vacation, so today’s post is short and sweet so that I can return to the mountains of laundry and grocery shopping that await me. You can see my “beyond the star-rating” posts over at Goodreads. Over the past couple weeks, since my last post, I’ve plugged away on a few novels, and enjoyed some nice reading spots (see above photo) while in California’s Napa Valley. It was a lovely vacation (sans kids, thanks to my parents!!) filled with sunshine, a lovely hike on the coast, a great bike ride through the Napa Valley hills, and of course  a bit of good wine and food, too!

My Recent Books . . .

IMWAYR041513

Continuing . . .

Yes, it’s Christmas-time in New York City, but I’m still enjoying this one a lot.

Next up . . .

I got side tracked by some lighter “vacation” reading . . . but I’m looking forward to this.

_________________________________________

1943 Newbery Medal winner.

_________________________________________

 

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

10 comments on “04.15.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. megan says:

    I read Dash and Lily for the first time this past Christmas…I finally found a Christmasy book I enjoyed! http://wp.me/pzUn5-1tH

  2. Lorna says:

    @Megan — I love the premise of the relationship building through the scavenger hunt dares. Dash and Lily seem a bit precocious for me, but I’m willing to overlook that for the storytelling!

  3. Great list of recent reads and to-be-reads. My list of books I want to read is
    embarrassingly long (and the stack is insanely high)!

  4. Lorna says:

    @Stacey: The TBR pile is never to high…it just means we will never be far from a good book! 🙂

  5. I absolutely loved Knucklehead and One Came Home was a very interesting read.

    The Monster Report

  6. Myra GB says:

    Ooohlala I think I need a vacation myself. You can’t possibly go wrong with Jon Scieszka – I would have to look for Knucklehead. Interesting how The Matchlock Gun only got one star. One of those Newbery novels, huh? 🙂 Enjoy grocery shopping!

  7. Have always wanted to read Sciezka’s bio- glad to see it is good 🙂
    Also cannot wait to read Ruta’s newest. She is a fascinating person and an amazing author.

    Happy reading this week 🙂

  8. I too loved Knucklehead and despised Matchlock Gun. Go figure. Trudging through those Newberys can be tough! I think you will enjoy Adam a whole lot more.

  9. carriegelson says:

    You read some of my older and newer favourites (How to Steal a Dog and One Came Home) I loved Out of the Easy. Looking forward to seeing what you think!

  10. Matchlock Gun Blech! I did really love Adam of the Road.

Leave a Reply

