05.06.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

I’m rolling off (Mostly) Screen Free Week, so this is a summary of reading over the last two weeks. Some great titles and some ho-hums, but overall it was great to carve out a few extra minutes here and there to read.

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries.

My Favorite Picture Books of the last two weeks . . .

I just adore Bear and his friends, and this title from the series is no exception. I love how they selfless care for each other. Yet another title from Wilson/ Chapman with great rhyming text and warm, gentle illustrations. Recommend for preschool – grade 2. (2007)

_________________________________________

Hysterical–might be my favorite Scaredy yet. Campers will definitely love this one. Recommend for preschool – third grade.  (2013)

_________________________________________

I was looking for another Viva book when I found this one instead. The graphic art style caught my eye, so I looked inside the cover to read about how the art was created. It was originally created via computer as one continuous 35′ long piece of paper. Wouldn’t that be cool to see? Sparse words, but enjoyable to pour over slowly. Recommend for grades K-5. (2011)

_________________________________________

Other Picture Books I read . . . 

  

_________________________________________

Plus . . . finished a slug of books from 1957 and 1958 for The Caldecott Challenge. Look for a post soon on these titles.

Finished for a Read Aloud . . .

After I read this by myself, I suspected it would make a fabulous read aloud with all the mysterious clues that are slowly revealed to the reader. Indeed I was correct, my kids begged me to read this on many an occasion. The cries of disbelief from both my girls (third and fifth graders), at certain plotline revelations were awesome. I can imagine it’d be just as fun in a larger group setting as a read aloud. Recommend for grades 4-7 alone, or grades 3-6 as a read aloud. (2013)

_________________________________________

Finished Non-fiction Chapter Book:

Interesting narrative, non-fiction account of the gang of criminals who attempted to steal the President’s body in exchange for ransom. Sheinkin has this genre figured out. Recommend for grades 4-8. (2013)

_________________________________________

Finished Middle Grade Fiction

Lovely, just lovely, and easily one of my favorite books that I’ve read thus far in 2013. Fans of Linda Urban’s Hound Dog True must pick this one up. Sugar is one powerful character, who endures slowly and bravely through the most challenging of circumstances. Often heart-breaking, but Sugar’s tenacious attitude gives you hope. I wish ever child facing homelessness and parental issues had the positive people that surround and lift Sugar up. Recommend for grades 4-7. (2012)

_________________________________________

Timmy is an over-confident kid detective with little to no detective skills. His oversights and omissions are painfully and amusingly clear to the reader. With lots of illustrations and a fast pace, this will surely appeal to fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid books and the Big Nate series. This is the first title in the series. Recommend for grades 3-6. (2013)

_________________________________________

I found the 1943 Newbery Medal winner set in the middle ages much more enjoyable than I had anticipated . . . Still not sure I’d hand it off to a kid today, though. (1942)

_________________________________________

Continuing to listen to . . .

I’m not alone, but I love Tina.

_________________________________________

Will finish . . .

A memoir from the author of one of my favorite blogs, Tea & Cookies. Goodreads reviews are a bit harsh, but I’m enjoying it so far.

_________________________________________

Next up . . .

So, so excited to start this one! Described by many as just good, classic storytelling.

_________________________________________

 

Deciding between these two titles. Votes?

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

16 comments on “05.06.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. megan says:

    I enjoyed Going Vintage. It’s not a five-star read, but enjoyable. I am not quite old enough for it to be nostalgic, but I do remember a time without cell phones and having to write papers without a computer!

  2. Lorna says:

    @Megan — During my “mostly” Screen Free week, my husband and I had a conversation with our girls about yellow pages and why had them. They were so stunned that we couldn’t always go look stuff up on our phones, tablets, computers, etc! I’m looking forward to Going Vintage for that walk down the “unplugged” lane!

  3. @JuleeMurphy says:

    We have so many books we like in common. I am a huge fan of Karma Wilson books and Bear Feels Sick is one of my favorite library lessons.I shake everyone’s hands as they walk in the door and kids are delighted to see that I have given them glitter germs! It makes for a great hand washing lesson. Timmy Failure is sitting here on my desk (I wanted to read a few pages before I have to hand it over to the kid who put it on hold). Almost Home comes in the library and out again before I can shout “Wait, I want that book!” but I am sure I would lose that battle. I keep conveniently forgetting A Tangle of Knots at home on my night table. It sounds thrilling. Just this morning I saw someone praising The Water Castle on Twitter. I hope I don’t forget to look into getting it for my library. Great post-you get an A+ for good sharing.

  4. Going Vintage has been on my list. I am also excited about The Water Castle. I ordered it and am impatiently waiting.

  5. Lorna says:

    @Julee–I LOVE your Bear Feels Sick lesson. Too cute (and affective, I’m sure!)! I hope you get a chance to enjoy those allusive and popular titles like Timmy Failure and Almost Home. Thanks for stopping by and have a great week!

  6. Lorna says:

    @Crystal–I just love the unplugged storyline for Going Vintage, but then again, I’m rolling off of Screen Free Week, too! 🙂

  7. I considered A TANGLE OF KNOTS for my next class read aloud, but in the end I decided on WHEN YOU REACH ME instead, which I much prefer over A TANGLE OF KNOTS. I made a good choice because everyday my 6th graders say to me… “Just one more chapter!” every time I close the book and say “And we’ll stop there…”

  8. Lorna says:

    @Beth–any read aloud that has them salivating for more is a great one. Thinking about When You Reach Me as a read aloud with my girls this summer. We loved LIAR, LIAR!

  9. Loved A Tangle of Knots when I read it a while ago. Great books!

    The Monster Report

  10. I love the Bear books! I need to get to Tangle of Knots this summer for sure.

  11. Myra GB says:

    Hi there Lorna, I have yet to read a Karma Wilson book. Insomniacs and Along a Long Road caught my eye – the play with words on the latter and the artwork on the former seem like something I’d thoroughly enjoy. Haven’t read aloud lately to my eleven year old daughter. 😦 hope to remedy that soon. Have a great reading week!

  12. Linda Baie says:

    Wow, Lorna, so many good books here. I have the Bauer book on my list-she is a favorite. Also happy to see the Bear Feels Sick book-so cute! I also have A Tangle of Knots to look forward to-sounds very good! Thank you!

  13. So many great books I’ve looked forward to reading… Happy to put on order Almost Home and The Water Castle…Thanks for the heads up on Almost Home!

  14. Lorna says:

    @Linda–I was so impressed with Almost Home. Nice to have so many great titles awaiting you in your TBR!

  15. Lorna says:

    @Myra–Do thumb through a Karma Wilson Bear book when you get a chance. Cute stories, great rhyming. It’s hard to find time to read with my older one, especially as her school work and extra curricular activities pick up. I’m hoping our summer break lets us dive back into another whole family read!

  16. Lorna says:

    @Debbie — enjoy both Almost Home and The Water Castle when you get to them. Almost Home is one of those titles that comes to mind when you think about the right book in the right hands, at the right time.

Leave a Reply

