05.13.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

I had anticipated a reading filled week, but folks, it was 70 and 80 degrees last week. In Seattle. In May. Some summers we can count the number of 80 degree days on one hand. And if there is one thing to know about people who live in the Seattle-area, when it is 70+, we drop everything and head outside to soak it up. While I did do some reading, I just didn’t finish anything. As the rain returns this week, so does the reading, I suspect!

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries.

I finished these picture books . . .

I love Bear and Mouse and their Frog and Toad-like relationship. If you don’t know the Bear and Mouse books, start with the first in the series, A Visitor for Bear, which by all means MUST be read aloud. I am impressed with the vocabulary on this one. Recommend for grades pre-K – 2nd grade. (2011)

_________________________________________

Fogliano and Stead make a great pair in this just release book. The story, to me, is a lovely mashup of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie and Harold and the Purple Crayon, if Harold were hunting for a whale. Charming. Recommend for grades K-3. (2013)

_________________________________________

I’m continuing these books . . .

Adult, Memoir:

Set this one to the side for a bit to read The Water Castle.

_________________________________________

Loving this one so far! The suspense builds masterfully. Something creepy is going on in that old house!

_________________________________________

Continuing this on audio . . .

Soccer tryouts for my oldest meant a long walk with this audio gem. A bonus of listening to this book is being able to hear the audio from some of her skits as Sarah Palin on SNL. Priceless.

_________________________________________

Next up . . . (still!)

 

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

11 comments on “05.13.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. megan says:

    I totally hear you on the weather! Cleveland has be absolutely gorgeous for a couple of weeks. That came to a screeching halt last night and we are back to freezing…perfect blanket and book weather! Soak it up, the books will be there when you get back!

  2. Erin Stead was having her launch party for IF YOU WANT TO SEE A WHALE on Thursday, a mere 20 minutes from where I live, but I didn’t find out until 45 minutes before the event and I was just too darn tired to go. I wish I had gone now.

    THE BUTCHER AND THE VEGETARIAN looks interesting. I’ll have to put that one on my to-read list!

  3. Lorna says:

    Oh, bummer you missed Erin Stead. She has such a light and lovely style to her art. I’m mixed right now on THE BUTCHER AND THE VEGETARIAN. The writing isn’t as solid as what I find on her blog, but I’ll keep at it.

  4. Jennifer says:

    I’m planning to buy Going Vintage VERY soon! I’ve been wanting to read that for ages.

  5. Myra GB says:

    I love the collaboration between Stead and Fogliano – I fell in love with “and then it’s spring” – they have such quiet but powerful books. the butcher and the vegetarian sounds fun too! enjoy the rest of your reading week and the glorious sunshine in seattle! 🙂

  6. carriegelson says:

    Oh how I want this Stead/Fogliano title! Hear you on the weather – same in Vancouver! I did all of my reading late at night and early in the a.m. 🙂 Enjoy The Water Castle. A truly great middle grade read!

  7. Linda Baie says:

    Thanks for the heads up to the new Stead/Foliano title. I have And Then It’s Spring-think it’s marvelous, so can’t wait to see this one. And I don’t know the bear & mouse books-will find them! Thank you Lorna!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Linda–I didn’t even have the new Stead book on my radar, but just happened to see it the bookstore. A lovely tone, just like And Then It’s Spring. The Bear and Mouse books are perfect for sharing with your little people!

  9. Lorna says:

    @Carrie- I *knew* you’d understand about the weather! We take what we can get around here, don’t we?

  10. Lorna says:

    @Myra — If you like And Then It’s Spring, you’ll enjoy the sweet whimsy of this new Stead book!

  11. Lorna says:

    @Jennifer — I’m looking forward to Going Vintage, too. The premise sounds so great!

Leave a Reply

