05.20.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

I didn’t quite carve out the time I was hoping to read as much from my chapter books this week, but I did sneak in some wonderful picture books into the mix. Here’s a peak . . . 

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

My favorite picture books from the week: I do believe I need to thank Carrie for steering me toward many of these titles! 🙂

This is a GORGEOUSLY illustrated story of a fairy-like guardian of orphaned seeds. This would be a beautiful addition to a study of seeds and plants, and is most certainly a great companion read to Miss Rumphius. Recommend for grades K-3. (2013)

_________________________________________

Sweet tale, originally published in France, about how a friendship develops between two wolves. The relationship moves from cautiously checking each other out, to carefully extending offers of friendship and companionship, to missing each other dearly when separated. Cute, slightly distorted animal illustrations. Recommend for grades K-4. (US 2009, France 2005)

_________________________________________

I enjoyed this whimsical look at Sasquatch life, in particular probably because we live in the heart of Sasquatch-country here in the Pacific Northwest. Sasquatch is the stuff of legend on camping trips with our family and friends. This book made for an entertaining and humorous read aloud. Spires’s illustrations, especially the little details, were great. Recommend for grades K-4. (2012)

_________________________________________

I adore Calef Brown’s poetry books, and this picture book was great, colorful, rhyming fun. Both pirate fans and Calef Brown fans will delight. Great for K-3 (2012)

_________________________________________

Finished this middle grade novel:

Fantastic mystery with a bit of science and magic thrown in. Great for 4th grade – 7th grade. (2013)

_________________________________________

Finished this on audio . . .

Tina is awesome. Tine reading this is perfect, and perfectly entertaining.

_________________________________________

Next I will continue . . .

 Young adult title. (2013)

And then one of these . . .

 

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

17 comments on “05.20.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. carriegelson says:

    Lorna – I am so pleased that you enjoyed some of these titles as much as I did! Miss Maple’s Seeds is absolutely delightful and I agree would be wonderful shared along with Miss Rumphius. Would your girls like The Water Castle? I’m thinking that it would be a great book club title for my student book club when it comes out in paperback. So much mystery and intrigue! Happy Reading this week!

  2. @JuleeMurphy says:

    I am glad I visited your blog. Nice! especially Larf. It looks perfect for my groups of students and of course you can never have enough pirate books. I think some of my 4th-6th girls might like Doll Bones but I am just judging by the book cover. I look forward to your post about it.

  3. megan says:

    Bossypants was a great audio. Have you tried Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson? I liked Going Vintage and I am looking forward to Doll Bones. Have a great reading week!

  4. I just loved Going Vintage! I’ve also seen Miss Maple’s Seeds in a lot of places and need to get my hands on it! Doll Bones and The Water Castle are on my TBR list!! Happy reading!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I bought Going Vintage for me to read, but it was immediately snatched up by greedy student hands! Lol 🙂

  6. I enjoyed Bossypants too! Did you read Mindy Kaling’s book? I wasn’t really familiar with her work on TV, but I enjoyed most of her essays. I’m trying to hold out for the library to get Doll Bones (trying to stop spending so much $ on books!) but I don’t know if I can resist! I just checked out Water Castle…. hoping to start this week. Enjoy your reading week!

  7. Lorna says:

    @Carrie–Yes, thank, thank you. You are always such a great provider of PB titles! Lots of gems! 🙂

    I do think my girls would like The Water Castle . . . while it’s not set in a wizarding school, some of it reminds me of Harry Potter . . . probably the kid-based problem solving. It would make for a great book club title!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Julee–I’m curious to dive into Doll Bones . . . the cover sure makes you want to know more!

  9. Lorna says:

    @Megan — Jenny Lawson’s book is on my TBR. I hear it’s great, too!

  10. Lorna says:

    @Jennifer–that’s awesome! Had your student heard about it from you, or word of mouth? Either way, you gotta love book hype!

  11. Lorna says:

    @Elisabeth–I haven’t read Mindy Kaling’s book, but do know her from tv and radio interviews. She is a hoot and smart, too! I hear you on the book buying crazies–so hard to be good. I actually won Doll Bones, so it’s a lucky me, indeed! 🙂

  12. Jennifer says:

    From me. I’d talked about it coming out a while back, and when she saw I’d bought it, she wanted it 🙂 I always hate to take a book when a student wants it!

  13. Myra GB says:

    Hi Lorna, I know what you mean about getting more books through Carrie! So glad to see familiar titles here – I’m jealous though as I still do not have the time to visit our library to borrow them – planning to go this evening though. Miss Maple’s Seeds does sound beautiful.

  14. Larf looks fantastic. Doll Bones is also looking appealing. Not “supposed” to judge a book by its cover, but the art really does tip the scales on some.

  15. Lorna says:

    @Crystal–I know what you mean about Doll Bones…I’m totally intrigued by the cover too!

  16. I just got Doll Bones from the library and I’m having a hard time finishing my current book and then sticking with my planned reads after getting it…it just looks so enticing!

  17. Earl says:

    I’ve been seeing lots of rave for Miss Maple’s Seeds. I should read it since it sounds like something our customers may enjoy.

Leave a Reply

