05.27.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

Another quiet reading week for me, but take a look at what I did read this last week . . . 

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

Do you have a Star Wars fan in you house? This would make a great Father’s Day present. Each page is a one panel comic of Darth Vader in action as he parents young Luke Skywalker. Lots of funny parenting moments with a Star Wars spin on them. My favorite is when Darth Vader is tickling Luke using the Force while saying, “I have you now .” I haven’t yet read the just released second book in the series, Vader’s Little Princess, but I’m on hold for it at the library. Recommend for avid Star Wars fans of any age. (2012)

_________________________________________

Finished this graphic novel:

I really wanted to like this more than I did, as I know lots of people who LOVE this book. The art is terrific and the storyline has an interesting premise which introduces us to young astronauts in training. You meet a broad range of characters including Hakata, who already has a past as crime fighting hero. I found the storyline disjointed and at the end I felt I didn’t really know any of the characters very well, and frankly many of them just didn’t appeal to me. Maybe the second, just released book in the series, Astronaut Academy Re-Entry, takes it forward? If you’ve read it, let me know if I should read on in the series. I think this has more of a middle school feel than upper grade school, mainly because it has a lot of peer relationship issues. (2011)

_________________________________________

Finished this young adult novel . . .

I really enjoyed this young adult novel. Mallory, a junior in high school, is fed up when she finds out her boyfriend has been having an online relationship in virtual-world game that he plays. Disgusted with his obsession and bothered by her peers’ reactions to the break up, she decides to abandon all technology as she tries to live a more authentic teen life. Her vision of an idealized teen life is pieced together from saved items she finds which belong to her grandmother, who was a teen in the early sixties. As time goes on she learns a lot about what she wants and needs from the friendships and her own family members–honesty and authentic-ness, even if that might include a bit of technology. I found this a smart and thought provoking and a great one for today’s teens to read. Lots of great discussion points. As for the content, I found it pretty clean with mainly some kissing and vague mentions of going beyond that, plus a teen pregnancy (not the main characters!). I’d recommend for grades 9 and up, or perhaps younger as a shared read. (2013)

_________________________________________

Next up . . .

I’m sharing copies of this and the first Zita the Spacegirl graphic novel books as my final Book Fairy visit to the 4th/5th grade class, so I will be finishing this up. I love Zita and think they will too!

_________________________________________

This moves up in the queue as it due at the library in a few days and I can’t renew it as it’s needed for a hold. I’ve heard great things about this middle grade novel.

And then if time permits, I move on to this one . . .

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

8 comments on “05.27.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I had to break down and buy Doll Bones this week, so it’s on my list too, though I don’t know if I’ll get to it this week. I agree: lots of funny moments in Darth Vader & Son–clever idea for comics. I enjoyed reading your review of Going Vintage. I’ve been seeing this title pop up a lot lately–I love the cover and the plot sounds intriguing. Will be looking for it at the library for sure. Happy reading this week!

  2. I loved Darth Vader and Son. My students did too. I should see if I can get the sequel before the last day of school.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I guess I’d better read Going Vintage since those are my ‘teen’ years-to check out if it’s all correct (te he). I’m not sure I would like the Astronaut Academy either, Lorna. Hard to see what’s fun about it, especially if it’s about friendships, etc. so not so important for the middle grades. Thanks!

  4. carriegelson says:

    We have Darth Vader and Son! Very funny. Everyone is talking about Doll Bones. I’m afraid of its potential creepiness factor! I’m a bit of a chicken I must admit. I will wait and see what you think.

  5. bluestockingthinking says:

    I just requested both Darth Vader books, they look so funny!! They might just be two new perfect additions to my Star Wars book bin! I would say you don’t need to spend the time reading Astronaut Academy: Re-Entry. It has exactly the same disjointed feel as the first one. I’d not heard of Genie Wishes yet, so I just added it to my 2013 list. I’m loving Doll Bones! It’s not as creepy as I’d hoped, though I’m only half way through…But what was the scariest thing to see at a sleepover as a child…a china doll.

  6. Lorna says:

    Hi Nicole, thanks for the heads up on the Astronaut Academy #2. The Star Wars books are fun and will be a hit with the Star Wars fans in your room. Genie Wishes is very enjoyable so far, and reminds me another tween book I’ve enjoyed–Small Medium at Large by Joanne Levy.

  7. Earl says:

    Those Darth Vader books do sell like hotcakes in our store. I’ve been debating to read the Zita books. Have fun during your last stint as the Book Fairy this school year!

  8. Lorna says:

    I can see why those Star Wars books sell well here in the NW (and elsewhere)…they tap into our lovable geek culture, and I mean that in the nicest way. You definitely should check out Zita! A great chose for middle grade readers in the GN category as they advance from the easier titles. Great girl-power title, but good adventure story for everybody!

Leave a Reply

