06.03.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”.

A good week of reading for me and this week will start off great because illustrator and author Matt Holm is doing an assembly at my kids’ school today that will include my youngest daughter’s class! Guess which adult in the room will be wearing Babymouse ears in the back? As you can tell, my youngest is huge fan. So after this quick post, I’m off to help the kids make a Welcome sign for Matt! I’m thrilled I was able to share several Babymouse and Squish books with her class this year as the Book Fairy

babymouse060313

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

My Three Favorite Picture Books of the Week:

This one has bold graphic art and fun word play that older students will enjoy. It takes whole sentences that are homophonic and pairs them with another sentence, as seen in the title. Some result in pretty funny artistic interpretations. Recommend for grades 1-5. (2012)

_________________________________________

Ruzzier’s illustrations are adorable and this rhyming text make this a great read aloud choice for preschool to first grade, and a good choice for kids just starting out with reading. With its rhyming and repeated phrasing it certainly reminded me of Dr. Suess’s Green Eggs and Ham. (2013)

_________________________________________

Cute illustrations! Mr. Bud, the dog, has a nice life and routine until the new dog, Zorro, moves in. They both need to adapt to each other with some give and take, but find things are a lot more fun with a friend. Would be great as a read aloud to draw connections to how we are this way as people. Younger kids will be drawn to this one, but older kids will love the illustrations and benefit from the message. Recommend for K-5. (2011)

_________________________________________

Finished these GREAT middle grade novels . . .

This was a great book that tween girls are going to love. Readers will relate well to the friendship struggles that Genie is experiencing as well as the puberty issues and discussions that come up. The only reservations I have are about the issues of body weight and image that are very prevalent for a couple of the characters. While I’m happy the main character shrugs them off, I worry what impressionable readers might think. My own fifth grader rarely talks about those things right now and I wonder if after reading this book she might wonder, “Should I be thinking or worrying about that stuff the way Blair and Sarah do?” I’m happy Genie is comfortable in the story, but wonder if her healthy perspective is enough to balance out the loudly voiced negatives. As a parent I’m surely going to circle up after she reads this to get her thoughts. GREAT choice for 5th – 6th graders, and 4th graders if they’re ready for the puberty references. (2013)

_________________________________________

Folks, you’re going to want to read this one! Yes, the cover of this book suggests this book will be about a spooky  china doll, but look closer at the top and you see the three kids in a sail boat. This book has a whole lot of epic journey and adventure, as the kids try to solve the mystery of the doll’s rightful place. It is really, really great. Confession, I haven’t read the Spiderwick Chronicles, for which she is a co-creator, but her writing her is terrific and I found the characters authentically voiced. Asked if scary, I describe it as having some hair-raising tension, but nothing too terrifying. I loved the relationship between twelve-year olds, Zach, Poppy, and Alice as they straddle the line between their time of imaginative childhood and more adult-like teen years. This would be a great pick for readers 4th-8th grade. I was lucky enough to win a signed copy from Laura at Lib Laura 5. Lucky, lucky me. (2013)

Continuing . . .

I’m just a few chapters into this young adult romance set in the 1980s, but looking forward to it as the reviews have been pretty awesome. I was exactly their age at the time the book is set, and I love all the pop culture references. (2013)

And then I move on to this one . . .

For my Newbery Challenge, the winner of the 1944 Medal.

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

19 comments on “06.03.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Wow! So many great books this week! And yay for Jenni and Matt Holm coming to your daughter’s class. Jenni is so wonderful. I’ve never met Matt before but I can imagine they’re a hoot together.

  2. Lorna says:

    Just Matt, today, but we met Jenni last year when she came to a Seattle bookstore. She was awesome!

  3. SO COOL about Matt Holm coming to your daughter’s school! Have tons of fun! (and I’m absolutely dying to read Doll Bones. I think Holly Black is one of the most talented authors working today. LOVE LOVE LOVE her YA stuff.)

  4. megan says:

    I forgot that I have Doll Bones at home! That may have to be by next read. It seems to be on lots of lists this week and everyone is saying awesome things. I want in on that!

  5. I love love love Say Hello to Zorro! HILARIOUS! I laugh so hard when I’m reading it to my kids, I can barely get through it. They like it, but not nearly as much as I do, so clearly there’s just something special between me and that book! Doll Bones is now sitting at the top of my TBR pile. Really looking forward to that one. I’ve got Eleanor & Park in that stack too. Looking forward to your thoughts on Johnny Tremain–I abandoned it halfway through and have been trying to convince myself that it still counts towards the Newbery challenge because I really don’t want to finish it.

  6. Loved Genie Wishes! I hear you on the body image topic – I used it to talk to my fifth graders about how I wish we could all be comfortable with ourselves like Genie is – for the most part. Most of them recognized that Sarah and Blair were taking things in the wrong direction.

  7. Julee Murphy says:

    I really like the clean look of your blog. I have been getting very frustrated lately with Blogger which I used to like a lot. Too many issues with disappearing text, messed up layouts, etc.

    I really want to read Doll Bones and glad to know its not scary. Great post.

  8. bluestockingthinking says:

    I wrote about Doll Bones today too. And of course I loved it, it’s amazing! Best cover too! I’ve just recently added Genie Wishes to my list, glad to know you liked it.

  9. carriegelson says:

    Okay You have made me brave enough to read Doll Bones. Think I will have my daughter read it too! She is braver than me! I read The Spiderwick Chronicles to my children years ago and we loved them! Hope your daughter’s day was amazing!

  10. Linda Baie says:

    I love the idea of Genie Wishes, and have seen Doll Bones everywhere! Thanks for all the ideas-I’ve read Blue Socks-so cute, & have Eleanor & Park-soon! Thanks Lorna.

  11. Lorna says:

    @Linda–yes, isn’t it funny how IMWAYR is filled with Doll Bones readers this week. A great story that is so much more than (creepy!) doll on the front!

  12. Lorna says:

    @Carrie–I’m guessing you’ll like Doll Bones. Similar in a way to Navigating Early with the quest/journey but a bit more accessible to readers. I’m trying to sell Doll Bones to my daughter now, but she can’t get past the cover no matter how much I say, “It’s so much more than that!” Matt Holm’s visit was awesome; a great presentation. He even signed her cardboard guitar that we made for her Babymouse costume a couple of Halloweens ago.

  13. Lorna says:

    @Linda–I’m guessing I got the Blue Socks title from you . . . very cute indeed. Genie Wishes is a great title and a super addition to the tween realistic fiction titles.

  14. Lorna says:

    @Julee-I’m one of those people who tried a bunch of different templates before I settled on this one. I do need to do some editing of my blog rolls and other side bar stuff, but I found too much clutter wasn’t working for me. Definitely do some comparing and contrasting on Blogger v WordPress. I think they’re some pros and cons to both, but I’ve been pretty happy with WP.

    Be warned that Doll Bones will have some moments of creepiness, but not to the point that I felt I’d need to sleep with the lights on, which was kind of what I was thinking before I started!

  15. Lorna says:

    Thanks, Katherine, that’s a great way to share and discuss those body image concepts with readers! I agree the tone of those two girls is kind of crazy over the top, and probably for most readers that will be clear.

  16. Lorna says:

    @Elisabeth — Zorro is a fun one–do you have dogs? So many great books in your stack to look forward to . . . I hope you enjoy Doll Bones! Yes, Johnny Tremain looks so daunting after all this great MG fiction I’ve been reading. I read it 8th grade and remember thinking why on earth do I need to know how to make bullets in such detail??? I’m all for abandoning painful Newbery books. After a mighty try, I walked away from The Dark Frigate. Ugh, that was painful!

  17. Lorna says:

    @Megan–it is funny how all of the sudden this week Doll Bones is on everybody’s lists! Worth the accolades in my book!

  18. Lorna says:

    @Hannahlily–Thanks, Matt’s presentation was really awesome. I’ll be curious to hear what a hard core Holly Black fan thinks of it . . . I was seriously impressed!

  19. Lorna, I have the world’s sweetest pit bull. Though I imagine there are many pit bull owners who would challenge me for title of world’s sweetest! Such nice dogs! Roxy has no aspirations in life beyond being a Velcro dog. On my blog you asked about Barbara Pym. I don’t think you can go wrong with No Fond Return of Love, Less Than Angels, A Glass of Blessings, or Excellent Women.

Leave a Reply

