Treat Tuesday! 06.04.13

treatbadge

It’s Tuesday! I am joining in the fun, created by Niki at Daydream Reader, called Treat Tuesday, where we snap a quick photo of what we are reading and a treat we are enjoying. And thanks to Shannon (aka Ms. Houghton) for the meme logo seen above. Inspired by my Twitter pal, Maria, I’m including what my kids are enjoying as well. Follow all the treat fun on Twitter under the hash tag #TreatTuesday.

The Girls . . . Bagels and Books!

IMG_1632

Small (age 8, third grade)

Lemonade Wars, by Jacqueline Davies. This child consumes books at a rapid rate. Almost too fast for this mom as I wonder about her comprehension, so I’m really glad that she’s taking her time with this one and still declares it “really good”, which is the equivalent of a 5-star review from her!

 

Tall (age 11, fifth grade)

Genius Files #1: Mission Unstoppable, by Dan Gutman. Today at school she finished and loved The Hero’s Guide to Storming the castle and loved it, so now on her sister’s recommendation she’s going to try Genius Files. I tried book talking Holly Black’s Doll Bones to her but she wasn’t buying it!

______________________

For Me . . . Date Lunch and Nostalgic YA

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I’m only a few chapters in, as my reading time has been those exhausted few minutes when I head to bed, hence not a lot of progress. I’m looking forward to it, though, based on the many good reviews I’ve read about this young adult novel. Eleanor and Park are two very different people falling in love for the first time in the mid-1980s, my own stomping ground for the teen years. I’ve enjoyed the pop culture references so far.

A mini-trailer:

From the Paseo Seattle website

My treat–Date lunch with my husband! I made my first voyage to Paseo a Cuban restaurant in Seattle’s Fremont neighborhood. I cannot claim to have tried every sandwich in town, but I am willing to say my this pork sandwich is definitely one of the best sandwiches I’ve had in a long time. And they serve it on Macrina bread, my absolute favorite local artisan bakery. Supposedly there’s always a wait and it is always worth it. If you go, grab lots of napkins.

 

My recent book posts:

It’s Monday — 06/03/13

 

Hope you’re savoring whatever you are reading and snacking upon!

Leave a Reply

