07.01.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen at Teach Mentor Texts and Kellee at Unleashing Readers for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Head to the It’s Monday post here to link up or see a list of the all the other readers participating in this great meme. You can also follow along on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR!

 

My Book-A-Day Progress:

Goal: 75

Read to date: 20

Head to my 2013 Book-A-Day shelf to see all the titles I’ve read so far this summer!

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

My three favorite picture books:

This is a great story inspired by the real traveling librarians in rural Columbia. One young girl is so eager to learn and patiently waiting for the biblioburro is quite the challenge. What a gift this service is to these rural communities. It would of course be excellent paired with Jeannette Winters’ Biblioburro. Recommend for grades 1-4. (2011, Tricycle Press)

_________________________________________

One of those picture books that will have you shouting, “Hurrah for books! Hurrah for libraries!” I love Cleminson’s thick black line and water-color illustrations. Recommend for K-3. (2012, Disney-Hyperion)

_________________________________________

Adorable, wordless book, with lovely fold out flaps and spreads. Delicate and smile inducing illustrations of a young girl trying to be as graceful as the flamingo. Recommend for preschool and up . . . even my 4th and 6th graders thought it was very cute. (2013, Chronicle Books)

Finished these early/beginning chapter books . . .

Great beginning/early chapter series called The Franklin Friends, that is perfect for fans of Marty McGuire and Clementine books. Kelsey is a third grader and she is a strong reader obsessed with winning recognition in a school-wide reading competition. Her antics get a little crazy but she learns a lot along the way about trusting other classmates, both the strong readers and the struggling readers. Recommend for grades 1-3. (2013, Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

_________________________________________

An early chapter book that’d be a great choice for animal lovers and families raising urban chickens. I pointed out this one to my urban chicken raising nephews who actually had to deal with finding a rooster amidst their chicks. I love the kids trouble-shooting process when things start to go awry. Recommend for grades 1-4. (2012, Holiday House)

_________________________________________

These novels . . .

1945 Newbery Medal. An odd, but enjoyable animal fantasy book set at a country estate. Think rabbits and other small animals like moles and mice, cooking and keeping house while they mind their new neighbors in the big house. Might make a sweet read aloud for younger animal loving kids.

_________________________________________

This was my third reading of this book which is my all-time favorite. I just marvel that this is Harper Lee’s only work. Things that make you go hmm…

Currently reading

I’m trying to get into this one but I’m getting distracted by others in the to-read pile that are flowing in very rapidly from the hold shelf at the library.

 _________________________________________

I’m loving the voice in this one so far.

 _________________________________________

And then . . . I’ll be choosing from:

              

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

14 comments on “07.01.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Hi Lorna, I am listening to Cinder on audio and am enjoying it. I really want to read Otto the Bear and Flora and Flamingo. Enjoy your week!

  2. carriegelson says:

    Lorna – I just finished Twerp and I predict if you are loving the voice so far, you will become a bigger fan by book’s end. I am going to look for Waiting for the Biblioburra. Love books that celebrate passing on access and love of books

  3. I’ve never heard of biblioburros! Can’t wait to look for these at the library. I’m trying to turn my older son into a reader, and I love sharing books about books with him! Might have to break down and buy the Claudia Mills book, because you had me at Clementine! (Just got Marty Maguire from library–will start reading that one aloud to my kids just as soon as we finish the new Bad Kitty book!) Enjoy your reading week!

  4. Lorna says:

    @Gigi–I think I need to spend some time with Cinder and let myself get into it. It is just not typically what I’m drawn to, so I find my mind wandering! I hope you meet Otto and Flora soon–both are very sweet titles!

  5. Lorna says:

    I can tell too that Twerp is my kind of book . . . it reminds me of some of the more biographical stories in Guys Read: Funny Business. I do have this feeling that something more serious is around the bend though. Yes, you will adore Waiting for the Biblioburro!

  6. Lorna says:

    @Elisabeth — I bet your son will love Marty McGuire. She is quite the tomboy which makes her appeal widespread. Clementine is a hard character not to like . . . if you try the Kelsey Green, I’ll be curious to hear what he thinks! And do look for the biblioburro titles . . . very inspiring!

  7. Linda Baie says:

    Okay, you have me wanting the Otto book. There are so many wonderful books about bears, aren’t there? I have both Cinder and Scarlet, still haven’t read them. Twerp sounds good (I looked it up) & I used to love Rabbit Hill, but it’s been a long while. Thanks for telling about so many, Lorna. Congrats on the Book-a-day accomplishments!

  8. Lorna says:

    Otto is right up your alley for taste in books, Linda. Very sweet! My husband saw the cover for Rabbit Hill and did a double take, and thought he too enjoyed it as a kid!

  9. Enjoy Cinder! It is one of my recent favorites! As for the picture books; I really need to Biblioburro, Otto, and Flora- they sound great!!!

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

  10. I am so looking forward to Aces Wild! I bet that one will be fun. I really enjoyed Cinder, but I listened to it.

  11. Earl says:

    So many good choices. They did a PBS documentary on the Biblioburro. I want to watch it so badly. I enjoyed the two books you mentioned about it.

  12. Lorna says:

    @Crystal — I am looking forward to Aces Wild too! I will keep plugging away at Cinder, I hear from many that it’s good!

  13. Lorna says:

    Thanks, Earl! Another book-to-film connection that I will need to find!

  14. Lorna says:

    Kellee–I will keep Cinder going, even if I need to put blinders on not to get distracted! 🙂 Hope you meet Otto, Flora and the ‘Burros soon!

Leave a Reply

