07.08.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen at Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee and Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Head to the It’s Monday post here to link up or see a list of the all the other readers participating in this great meme. You can also follow along on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR!

This week’s post is the quick and dirty addition; consider it the highlight addition of my reading this last week . . . as I prep for an upcoming vacation and perhaps even sneak a read in outside during the blissful weather in Seattle the past few days. On the to-do list before we leave, of course, is a trip to the library. A fun plus of our trip, is we are vacationing with author friend, Sue Fliess, and her family, so surely there will be some kid lit talk. Rumor has it that I’ll get to take a sneak peek at her new book which is illustrated by Bob Staake, Robots, Robots Everywhere! It will be released August 6th. Lucky me!

 

My Book-A-Day Progress:

Goal: 75

Read to date: 29

Head to my 2013 Book-A-Day shelf to see all the titles I’ve read so far this summer!

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads . . .

My three favorite picture books, all of which are delightful:

Screen Shot 2013-07-08 at 9.41.00 AM

Finished these early/beginning chapter books . . .

I adore the Clementine books. I thought I’d ready this one, but apparently not. She would most certainly be friends with Beverly Cleary’s Ramona. Recommend for grades 1-3. (2007)

_________________________________________

This graphic novel . . .

Terrific graphic novel featuring the great female scientists who are/have studied about primates. Recommend for grades 5-8. (2013/First Second Books)

_________________________________________

Read these middle grade novels . . .

A highly enjoyable follow-up to WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU O.J. Erica Perl balances well the good and challenging elements of family. Full of laughable and heartfelt moments. Great for grades 4-7. (2013/Knopf)

_________________________________________

My reading highlight for the week: I sure hope this title gets more attention. I adored it for the narrative honesty that I think middle school readers will get and appreciate. Julian did something bad, and his punishment is he needs to write about IT. Told through journal style writings to his teacher, we eventually learn about the event, but not until we hear about many other tales of Julian and his buddies of the late 1960s-era Brooklyn. This one will have you laughing but also thinking about how we act in groups in bullying/pranking/”just kidding” situations. While it does have its somber moments, its coming-of-age events are also highly entertaining and don’t make it seem deeply preachy. A terrific book to share and discuss. For grades 6-9. (2013/Random House)

_________________________________________

Currently reading

 _________________________________________

And then . . . I’ll be choosing from:

                           

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

14 comments on “07.08.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Oh that Primates one looks interesting! I’m adding it to my TBR list right now.

  2. Lorna says:

    @Angie–Primates is great . . . the format reminds me a bit of Mattt Phelan’s Around the World, but this time these figures have some overlap with each other.

  3. So eager to read Primates. I am also very excited about Aces Wild. Have a great vacation!

  4. I loved The Book Thief so much! I’ve been hearing about & seeing Twerp in several tweets & blogs. After reading your reaction I requesting it now.

    Have a wonderful vacation!

  5. carriegelson says:

    Twerp definitely deserves some attention! The Book Thief is in my vacation pile for this summer. I own my own copy so just have to balance it between what is due at the library! I also want to read The Apprentices – loved Apothecary! Enjoy your holiday! Are you gone for long?

  6. Cannot wait to read Aces Wild- loved the first one 🙂
    Also loved Primates as we discussed on UR 🙂
    Enjoy Book Thief. It is a very special book. If you struggle at all, the audiobook is amazing!

    Thank you so much for participating in IMWAYR and happy reading this week 🙂
    Kellee

  7. Primates and Twerp look so good! I am adding them to my TBR list.

  8. Jennifer says:

    The Book Thief is so fabulous!!
    The author of Aces Wild is coming to the Tween conference, too! I haven’t see that book on the list for us to borrow yet though.
    Happy reading this week!

  9. Lorna says:

    I totally know what you mean about juggling the library and home library pile. Sometimes when the holds flood in, I just want to holler, “Wait!” I too loved Apothecary! Vacation will be just under a week, with a few days at an old-time Cascade mountain lake resort with old friends, and then time with the funniest of relatives in Central Oregon. Looking forward to it and hoping to knock back a book or two in the sunshine!

  10. Lorna says:

    I hope you enjoy those titles, Gigi!

  11. Lorna says:

    Jennifer- I’ve heard TBT will be worth the wait. The few interactions I’ve had with Erica Perl indicate she is lovely. She also works for First Book which I think is such an awesome organization.

  12. Kris says:

    I can’t wait to read Aces Wild and Primates. Thanks for sharing!

  13. alybee930 says:

    So many books here that are on my “to-read” list. I need more time. Thanks for sharing.

  14. Dying to read Aces Wild and Primates, thank you for the reminder… 🙂

Leave a Reply

