08.05.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen at Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee and Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Head to the It’s Monday post here to link up or see a list of the all the other readers participating in this great meme. You can also follow along on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR!

augustreadingspot

Although my book count for the week is tiny, I felt good about making some progress with a few chapter books this week. Another great camping trip meant that my reading spot for a couple of mornings was this beautiful scene. Not bad at all!

My Book-A-Day Progress:

Goal: 75

Read to date: 48

Head to my 2013 Book-A-Day shelf to see all the titles I’ve read so far this summer!

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

Titles I read this week . . .

This will be a sure-fire hit as a read aloud. Crankee and his horse, Pony have a hilarious exchange through bubble speech using the Yankee Doodle song as a jumping off point. Angleberger and Bell need to keep this collaboration thing going! A great choice for grades K-3, though all ages familiar with the song will probably get a giggle out of this picture book. (2013/Clarion Books)

_________________________________________

Paperboy is a quietly powerful book. You are drawn into the protagonist’s world as a boy, with a significant stutter coming of age in Memphis in 1959. The story unfolds as a manuscript/memoir of sorts typed by the boy, a gifted baseball player, as he shares his experiences during his one-month stint as a substitute paperboy. This first hand account really allows you, as the reader, an opportunity to experience his stuttering problem from his point of view which I found fascinating. The month proves to be life changing for so many reasons. He meets a host of characters, each with stories to tell and lessons to share. He soon learns he is not alone in bearing immense personal struggles. Through his very close relationship with his nanny, Mam, we see a still racially divided Memphis and it’s system of unequal, often self-administered justice in the black community.  While it’s quiet, slow building pace won’t appeal to all readers, it would make for a thought-provoking read aloud. I also found Vawter’s writing style mesmerizing and worthy of a closer like.  Recommend for grades 5-8. (2013/Delacourte Books for Young Readers)

_________________________________________

A funny read with a heap of heart. I think it’d be a great title to hand to fans of the Origami Yoda series for it’s blend of humor plus situations with friends, school, parents and siblings to which kids will relate. Kids will love Louie’s funny pointers and laugh-out-loud dictionaries. Recommend for grades 4-7. (2013/Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

_________________________________________

Continuing . . .

Last week I mentioned my struggle with this title. I really appreciated hearing from other readers that have also struggled to connect with this book. I’ve heard good things about the audiobook, so I’m hoping that will come in soon at the library.

_________________________________________

Next up . . .

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

13 comments on “08.05.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. I will have to get Crankee Doodle. It looks hilarious. Your reading spot looks like it was just about perfect. I love the tall trees. Have a great week and good luck with Book Thief.

  2. carriegelson says:

    I am getting nervous – The Book Thief is a book I really want to read this year. I have to make sure I am in the right space. Seems people either love it or struggle. Glad that you enjoyed Paper Boy – because it is basically autobiographical I felt the narration was so real and vulnerable. A great read!

  3. Lorna says:

    @Crystal–Crankee Doodle will be a hit at library time! So silly!

  4. Lorna says:

    Don’t be nervous about The Book Thief! I will be curious to get your opinion when you get there. I agree with your thoughts that the voice in Paperboy is so honest and vulnerable knowing that author lived this story, too!

  5. I’ve been reading a lot of good things about Paper Boy. Hoping the library gets it in soon! It was also a small book count week for me–and nothing very memorable on the picture book front, which is always a bit depressing (given that I’m reading 10 or so every day to my kids! I’d really like for a few to stand out as exceptional at the end of the week. I did read two that would end up on my worst of all time list, but why spend time writing about that??) But I did make progress in my professional development books. What a lovely spot you had for reading! Hope your camping trip was relaxing and fun!

  6. Lorna says:

    @Elisabeth–I hope you enjoy Paperboy. Very thought provoking. Duds in the reading week are tough, especially with picture books. Hope some gems plop into your lap soon for reading time with your kids! 🙂 And, yes, camping was lovely!

  7. megan says:

    Cranky Doodle is hilarious! I hope the audio of The Book Thief works for you. I thought it was amazing and I struggled with the print version of the book. Have a great week!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Megan, I think it was you who first suggested the audio for The Book Thief. Thank you!! I’m eager to give it a try!

  9. I put in a request for Crankee Doodle at the library! And I really enjoyed Barftastic – and so did my 9 year old son! 🙂

  10. I have Crankee Doodle sitting on my nightstand at home, and The Day the Crayons Quit waiting for me on the holds shelf at the library…. I need to get back there! 🙂

    I really enjoyed The Book Thief, though I did stay up late many nights reading it because I do think it’s a book that is hard to read in short chunks. I hope the audio version does it for you, because I think the ending is powerful, but even if it doesn’t…lots of other great books out there! 🙂

  11. I can’t wait to read Every Day After. I met Laura at ALA and she is an absolute sweetheart.

  12. alybee930 says:

    I loved Every Day After. And though book count is small, the quality is high! 🙂

  13. Myra GB says:

    Hi Lorna, camping sounds so much fun! I bet that view is enough to make you want to read all day. 🙂 Beautiful! I have my own copy of The Book Thief but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. My eleven year old daughter would probably enjoy the Barftastic title as well as Crankee Doodle. I’ve read a lot of good reviews about Paper Boy – would love to get around to reading it this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

