09.09.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen at Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee and Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Head to the It’s Monday post here to link up or see a list of the all the other readers participating in this great meme. You can also follow along on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR!

It’s been one of those weeks where I got in very little productive reading time . . . progress made but no finished novels/chapter books. I’m hopeful that new school year routines and demands might settle down a bit in the next coming week. I’m excited to get back into the Newbery Challenge too, as I stalled out in the 1940s in my quest to read all the medal winners from 1922 to the present. Elisabeth at The Dirigible Plum suggested we try reading them at roughly the same time which I thought was a fabulous idea. I’m look forward to having #nerdbery friend!

 

click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

I read these picture books . . .

Lovely illustrations and a sweet story of friendship and encouragement as Fish helps Snail to go outside his comfort zone when they explore and visit a new story book. Great for preschool and early primary grades, but it would also be great to share with older students and children as you encourage them to take risks and to be brave. (2013/Viking)

_________________________________________

     

I also read these books for the Caldecott Challenge. Reviews and thoughts to come . . .

_________________________________________

Finished this graphic novels for middle grades . . .

This is my favorite Squish title to date. Winning isn’t everything, but that proves hard for Squish and his soccer teammates to understand as they lose game after game. Getting back on track requires them to rethink their strategies, but even then the team isn’t sure the goal of fun is being met. How will Squish and friends find the fun again? Great for grades 2-5 (2012/Random House)

_________________________________________

And I continue . . .

_________________________________________

_________________________________________

Next up . . .

 

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

9 comments on “09.09.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Oh how I adore THE STORY OF FISH AND SNAIL! I’m putting that one on my Caldecott short list! 🙂

  2. I started Strawberry Girl this weekend! I didn’t find the first few pages AT ALL promising (I’m not wild about regionalism in literature, though I appreciate what Lenski is doing), but I’m finding it more readable than I thought I would. That’s enough of a #nerdbery win for me. I really loved The Story of Fish & Snail. We haven’t read any of the Squish books yet, but they’re on my list!

  3. Lorna says:

    @Beth–it is very cute. A perfect combination of great artwork and message.

  4. Lorna says:

    @Elisabeth–I must admit I haven’t been as crazy about the Squish books as I am the Babymouse books, but this one definitely won me over. I recall reading Strawberry Girl while at my grandma’s house as a child, but I don’t recall a strong reaction one way or another on it. We’ll have to see how this long delayed re-read goes!

  5. Loved the look of Fish and Snail. Will totally have to find it. Did you ever read The End of the Beginning (Avi)? Chapter book but … sounds similar. Friends encouraging each other to move out of a comfort zone.. Anyway. Villians Rising is on my TBR radar as well!

  6. carriegelson says:

    I really like Waiting for Normal. Can’t wait to hear what you think. My daughter also loved it. I need to get more Squish titles in my room. Kids love them but I only have 2 books.

  7. Go Squish Go!
    I hadn’t read the others, but I have heard only great things about Waiting for Normal (and I want to read Fish and Snail :D)

  8. OH! And Happy reading this week!!!!

  9. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Quiet. 🙂
    I have heard it is good. I am an extrovert, and I wonder if I will enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

