10.07.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen at Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee and Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Head to the It’s Monday post here to link up or see a list of the all the other readers participating in this great meme. You can also follow along on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR!

A quiet reading week, but I did get to some great picture books and I wrote a couple of posts for my Caldecott Challenge–I’m through the 1950s! See my posts to see what you might want to pull off the shelves to check out from 1956-1959!

Caldecott Challenge #12 – 1956 and 1957

Caldecott Challenge #13 – 1958 and 1959 

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

I read these picture books . . .

I’m mixing it up a bit today and doing five-word reviews on my picture books. Click on the title link by my micro-review to get my wordier thoughts over at Goodreads!

picturebooks100713

Hello, My Name is Ruby: I love Stead. Read it.

Line 135: Imagination filled. Detail rich illustrations.

Carnivores: Santat’s pictures make the book.

Little Mouse’s Big Book of Fears: Clever, interactive design. Gravett rocks.

Rain Stomper: Mentor text for word choice!

_________________________________________

And I (really) plan to finish these this week . . .

 

_________________________________________

Read Alouds . . .

When do you find time read with your kids as they’re getting bigger and schedules get busier?

I love reading aloud to my kids (ages 12 and 9), but time always seems to get away from us. We eat late so we can eat with my husband who has a commute and “start-up” life. Sports schedules and homework sometimes take over. I know that I need to make the time, but it’s hard.  I’ve found myself reading in between bites of toast and sips of coffee at breakfast, or when they have dessert (and I don’t!). A big hit for both the girls has been to read to them while they’re folding their laundry. A win-win, right?

I’m reading this with our sixth grader, Tall. It is loads of fun. Short chapters make this great for fitting a bit of reading in here and there.

_________________________________________

 

Small, our fourth grader, likes the idea of scary stories, but doesn’t like to read them by herself, so she asked that we read the short stories from Guys Read: Thriller. Predictably creepy!

Next up . . .

 

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

12 comments on “10.07.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Mr. Lemoncello’s Library is on my list. Though I’m catching up with the Al Capone books first 😉

  2. It’s definitely more challenging to find read-aloud time now that the kids are back in school and there are the extra scheduling challenges of homework and sports in the evenings. I read aloud during breakfast every morning, and we try to make sure we read in the evenings too, but it doesn’t always happen. I love the idea of reading aloud while they’re doing their chores! I’ll try that this week! I am always trying to find more time to squeeze in reading!

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of Miss Hickory. I’m working on my blog post about it now. I found it kind of boring and tedious but innocuous enough, and then I got to the end, which is truly off the wall. It’s another one that I see a ton of online lesson plans for: again, are teachers really sharing and teaching this book in their classrooms? And if so, WHY? (Also lots of patterns & instructions for making Miss Hickory dolls!)

    I loved the illustrations in My Name Is Ruby, but the story didn’t work for me. Still, a new Philip Stead book is always cause for celebration!

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I like the Guys Read books, & would like to get this one because Halloween is coming, & have Lemoncello’s Library, but still haven’t read it. Your picture books also look nice, Lorna. I’ve noted them-so many good ones out there! Good luck on the read alouds! I read with my daughter until early high school. We had many happy memories of books together!

  4. Myra GB says:

    I’m so glad to see Emily Gravett’s Little Mouse’s Big Book of Fears here – one of my favourite Gravett books. I’ve been seeing the new Philip Stead book around and I’m very excited to read it. Will definitely look for this Jon Scieszka title.

  5. carriegelson says:

    Love that you are reading Mr Lemoncello’s Library to your older girl. It is a highly suspenseful read aloud. We are still fitting read aloud time in most nights – but often we read and laugh through picture books – our chapter book reading happens more on weekend eves. Great picture books this week! Glad you liked Line 135. I want to read this new Stead title.

  6. Lorna says:

    @Maria — Mr. Lemoncello’s Library is just plain fun. Enjoy your Al Capone run!

  7. Great picture books! Line 153 is wonderful. Carnivores was hilarious. And I think I attended a children’s literature class led by Boswell Addie a few years ago!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Elisabeth — Miss Hickory alludes me! My branch had a copy according to the website, but when I arrived it is being used to fulfill a hold. Go figure–Miss Hickory is a wanted gal! Maybe everyone is inspired to make the doll with the plans they found on the internet! 😉

    I do agree that My Name is Ruby as a story didn’t wow me, but the art is lovely. I think the real magic comes when he and Erin collaborate together. A Sick Day for Amos McGee is on my most favorite favorites shelf.

  9. Lorna says:

    @Linda: I too adore the Guys Read Books. They’re great collections and a wonderful way to introduce kids to a broad range of authors. Coincidently, my Girls, love the Guys Read books, too! I’m guessing you’ll love Lemoncello when you get there. Solid good fun!

  10. Lorna says:

    @Myra–my youngest was flipping through the Gravett book today as was declaring, “How cool!” with nearly every page turn. Such clever book design at work and great Gravett details.

  11. Lorna says:

    @Carrie–We’re totally enjoying Mr. Lemoncello’s Library. Just plain fun. Today’s mid-afternoon reading time was brought to us by Small staying late after school for chorus. 🙂

  12. Can’t wait for your take on Miss Hickory. I think I am still reeling, LOL, esp after reading my mom’s comment on my blog. I HADN’T EVEN CONSIDERED THAT ANGLE. It just gets worse and worse! Sick Day is also at the top of my list of very most favorite picture books. Love it so so much. I also had to order a couple of the Guys Read books for my older son! Not sure why I haven’t gotten those yet. Thanks for your mention of them.

Leave a Reply

