11.25.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Thanks to Jen at Teach Mentor Texts, and Kellee and Ricki at Unleashing Readers for hosting the meme “It’s Monday! What are you reading? From Picture Books to YA”. Head to the It’s Monday post here to link up or see a list of the all the other readers participating in this great meme. You can also follow along on Twitter using the hashtag #IMWAYR!

_________________________________________

Be sure to check out the giveaway I’m doing for the fun, middle-grade mystery, The Wig in the Window, by Kristen Kittscher. I am celebrating her upcoming visit to my kids schools early next week. If you missed it’s release this summer, it’s a great choice for grades 5-8!

wigkittscher

Click the book covers to go to Goodreads for the full summaries . . .

_________________________________________

Picture Book Biographies

 

2013 has been such a strong year for picture book biographies. This is another fine example told from the point of view of one of Frost’s daughters. I love the selection of Frost’s poems at the back. Recommend for grades 2-5. (2013/Henry Holt and Co.)

_________________________________________

Doreen Rappaport has created a terrific account of Helen and her teacher Annie Sullivan that is very accessible for young readers. I love how quotes from Helen’s biography are incorporated into the text. The illustrations by Matt Tavares are just perfect and convey just how rich her life was. A great choice for grades 1 and up. (2012/Disney-Hyperion)

_________________________________________

My three favorite fiction picture books:

You will find everything you love about Gerald and Piggie in this latest installment in the series. Perfect for preschool and up. (2013/Disney-Hyperion)

_________________________________________

Books in the Burrow keep being snatched from bedtime readers. Little Eliza tries to catch the thief and finds an unlikely suspect, who actually needs her support. A cute story that celebrates being read to and reading to others. Thanks to Carrie for pointing this title out! (2013/Sourcebooks Jabberwocky)

_________________________________________

Brian is a very quiet and shy boy who often feels invisible in class. When a Brian quietly befriends a new student and the kindness is reciprocated, Brian finds a way to bravely share all of his talents. This would make a terrific classroom read aloud. Lovely, soft illustrations really enhance this story. Recommend for grades K and up. (2013/Knopf  Books for Young Readers)

_________________________________________

Finished Middle Grade Chapter Books:

I found this to be a bit overly dramatic. Pringle a girl of 14 in 1870s Pennsylvania and Chicago has tragedy after tragedy pile on to her, as we learn through her diary entries. I did this as a read aloud with my fourth graders.  For grades 4-7. (2013/Scholastic)

_________________________________________

I know that reviews on this early chapter book are a bit mixed, but I just loved it. No, it is not filled with dramatic events. It is filled with the everyday events of a second grader. It is a quietly paced book that I think many kids should hear. Billy, a second grader, has very real feelings that I think are common for kids his age. Young kids will take comfort in knowing that they are not alone in these emotions that range from fear to irritation. He feels intimidated by the class bully. He finds his sister annoying at times. He fears he won’t be smart enough for second grade. He worries about the stress he sees his dad under. Kids feel all of these things. Many of them every day. Why not have them walk along with Billy as he works to be brave and kind? It would make a lovely read aloud to first or second graders. (2013/Greenwillow Books)

_________________________________________

Nonfiction for upper elementary and middle school

Tanya Lee Stone has  created a terrific work of non-fiction for upper elementary and middle school. With lots of personal interviews and careful research Stone has given us a fascinating look at the Triple Nickles, the all-African American paratrooper unit formed during World War II. More than just a profile of this unit, she also helps us understand the overall picture of the efforts to end the segregated armed forces. Stone really is a master at this format. (2013/Candlewick Press)

_________________________________________

My current read alouds

  

_________________________________________

Continuing . . .

Willow has sucked me into her story very quickly.

_________________________________________

Next up . . .

Do share what you are reading! Have a great week!

13 comments on “11.25.13 It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  1. Whata great list of books to read. I am especially drawn to “The Snatchabook” and “The Invisible Boy. Thanks.

  2. I need to find Papa Is a Poet (among others you mentioned but that’s the top one) like RIGHT NOW. Or maybe in a bit when the unseasonable for South Texas Rain and COLD blow through.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Love your readalouds, Lorna-both are good! And I love all your picture books, except still haven’t seen The Invisible Boy. The story & the illustration concept sound wonderful. Courage Has No Color is definitely one I will look for-haven’t heard of it but it too sounds good. Thank you!

  4. Myra GB says:

    Hi there Lorna, it’s the first that I’m seeing The Wig in the Window, thanks for letting me know about this. I shall check it out. I can’t wait to find Papa is a Poet – sounds so beautiful. Courage has no color is in my to-be-read list for next year! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your reading week!

  5. The Invisible Boy has caught my eye. I still haven’t gotten to Wig in the Window, but hope to soon. Have a great week!

  6. carriegelson says:

    Love your words about Billy Miller. I think it is a beautiful little book as well. I’m so pleased that you liked The Snatchabook – I want to start giving it as a baby gift – lovely message about reading aloud. Can’t wait to hear what you think about Counting by 7s!

  7. Lorna says:

    Thanks Linda, for stopping by! This meme is such a great way to learn about titles!

  8. Lorna says:

    @Angie–enjoy Papa is a Poet. I didn’t really know a lot about him, so this was a great introduction. Hope your sit out your cold weather curled up with a good book!

  9. Lorna says:

    @Linda–Yes, both girls are really enjoying the read alouds. My youngest threatened to grab The Green Glass Sea and read it without me. It would make such a great pairing with Sheinkin’s BOMB.

  10. Lorna says:

    Hi, Myra! I do hope you (or your daughter!) get a chance to check out The Wig in the Window. The characters are a smart and resourceful, which I just love. And Papa is a a Poet is a must find for poetry fans. Very sweet.

  11. Lorna says:

    @Crystal–I suspect that you will be charmed by The Invisible Boy. Lovely message!

  12. Lorna says:

    @Carrie–yes, Billy Miller is a very sweet book and a great one for sharing. The Snatchabook would indeed make a great baby gift. I’m looking forward to our Thanksgiving break when I can carve out some time to finish Counting By 7s among others!

  13. Kristen Kittscher is one of the nicest authors I’ve gotten to talk to. I hope the visit goes well. I love recommending her book to fans of Ivy and Bean. Billy Miller is wonderful, too.

Leave a Reply

