2014 Reading Intentions

Happy New Year! I don’t know about you, but I am most eager to flip that calendar to a new year. 2013 was filled with a variety of hand-wringing health oddities within my family that sucked both time and energy. Fingers crossed, but hopefully we are now on right side of healthy. And I’m pretty sure anything mechanical in my life that can be broken, from cars to appliances, has done so and has since been repaired, so there really can be no more surprises there, right? The ringing in of the new year also seems a perfect time to reflect on some of my reading plans for 2014. For 2014, I will be reading books from my Must Read Books in 2014 list as well as continuing to make progress on my Newbery and Caldecott Challenges. This is meant to be a guide for my reading, but certainly not the final word in what I plan to read this year. I’m allowing lots of time to read picture books and new things that I discover during the course of 2014. For the year I have set my Goodreads Reading Goal at 350 books, which is what I did in 2013.

Must Read Books in 2014

As the year wrapped up, like me, many reading friends posted some of their favorites of the year. (Click the link for my  2013 reading highlights.) It’s always fun to see what others enjoyed, but it also makes you realize what you wanted to read, but just didn’t get to, or maybe some titles that hadn’t yet crossed your radar. Carrie, at There’s a Book for That created such a list last year and did so again this year. After reading her list, several other reader/bloggers, including myself, felt the idea was so great that we too joined in. Everyone’s list format will be a bit different, but titles can include 2013 titles we are eager to read, even older titles buried deep in our larger To Be Read (TBR) piles, and books with 2014 publication dates that we are most anticipating. We are using the hashtag #mustreadin2014 on Twitter. Join in, if you’d like! The more, the merrier!

Books for Adults

adultbooks

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson
Delancey by Molly Wizenberg
 

Middle Grade Novels

mg2013_1

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Runaway King (Ascendance Trilogy #2) by Jennifer Nielsen (2013)
Hold Fast by Blue Balliet (2013) 
Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle (2013)
The Year of Shadows by Claire LeGrand (2013)

mg2013_2

The Apprentices (The Apothecary #2) by Maile Meloy (2013)
Beholding Bee by Kimberly Newton (2013)
Rump by Liesl Shurtliff (2013) | 
Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz (2013)

oldermg1

May B. by Caroline Starr Rose (2012)
Titantic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson (2012)
Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai (2011)
oldermg2
 
A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean (2012)
Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper (2010)
The 13-Story Treehouse by Andy Griffiths (2011)
oldermg3
 
Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko (2009)
Al Capone Does My Homework  by Gennifer Choldenko (2013)
Temple Grandin by Sy Montgomery (2012)
 

Young Adult Titles

ya2013

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (2013)
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (2013)
The Living by Matt de la Pena (2013)
olderya1
 
The Pull of Gravity by Gae Polisner (2011)
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (2007)
Aristotle and Dante by Benjamin Alire Saenz (2012)

olderya2

Me Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles

Graphic Novels

GN

Drama by Raina Telgemeier (2012)
The Great American Dust Bowl by Dan Brown (2013)

2014 Titles I’m most looking forward to reading:

2014_1

2014_2

Princess Labelmaker to the Rescue by Tom Angleberger
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill by Megan Frazer Blakemore
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee
Five, Six, Seven, Nate! by Tim Federle
The 26-Story Tree House by Andy Griffiths
Marty McGuire Has Too Many Pets! by Kate Messner
The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm

Newbery Challenge Goal

I’m shooting for 12 books, or an average of one per month. I’m grateful to have fellow blogger, Elisabeth, from The Dirigible Plum along for the ride as we slowly plug through the challenging middle years of the Newbery Challenge.

Caldecott Challenge Goal

I’m aiming to get through all Caldecott Medal and Honor winners through 1979. I found I really got weighed down in the 1950s, but I’m hoping to get back some steam for the Caldecott Challenge.

Cheers and may your 2014 be filled with many wonderful reading memories!

6 comments on “2014 Reading Intentions

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Hi Lorna, this year will be extra fun, hooking up in this group! I see you have some books that I have on my list, some I’ve read & some I need to add, but maybe later! I loved Beholding Bee and A Dog Called Homeless, will soon begin Rose Under Fire-can’t say enough about Code Name Verity-what a book! Happy New Year!

  2. carriegelson says:

    Oh I am very excited by your list! For two reasons. One, we share some titles so it will be great to compare notes! And two, you have some of my favourites here (and Linda’s it looks like!) so I am happy for you to have some amazing reading experiences! Beholding Bee, A Dog Called Homeless, Jumping Off Swings (then you MUST read Living with Jackie Chan which was one of my 2013 13 favourites!) and Aristotle and Dante! I just did Rump as a read aloud with my two who LOVED it – maybe your little listeners will as well. Happy Reading! Look forward to being a part of your reading adventures!

  3. So I’m discovering something dangerous about these #MustReadin2014 lists: every time I read one, I add something new to my own #MustReadin2014 list! I guess that comes as no surprise to anyone! I’m going to be rereading Unaccustomed Earth sometime in the next couple of months for a course I’m teaching (love Jhumpa Lahiri’s writing!) Gotta read Rose Under Fire this year too. I loved Code Name Verity sooo much. Your list also reminded me that I HAVE to read Jumping Off Swings and May B. So now those have been added too! LOL. And maybe I’ll try to finish Aristotle & Dante this year too…. and the list grows!

  4. Leigh Anne says:

    Love your list. I agree with Elisabeth, it is dangerous reading all these lists because I do want to add more. I loved A Dog Called Homeless. It literally took my breath away towards the end. Wonderful book. Looking forward to sharing as go along!

  5. Lorna says:

    @Linda–yes, this will be a fun challenge with a great group. Many shared past or future TBR titles is great fun. Happy New Year!

  6. Lorna says:

    Yes, Leigh Ann, so many great books. I figure I have no doubt I will have a great book in my hand when I die! 🙂 It will be fun to celebrate progress and great books together!

Leave a Reply

