Must Read in 2014 – Update #1

With April upon us, we are now 1/4 of the way through 2014 and it is the perfect opportunity to check in with where I am on my 2014 reading challenge, known fondly on Twitter as the #MustReadIn2014 Challenge. Below is the list of books I initially posted about in January that I wanted to read during 2014. It is mix of older titles, 2013 titles, and new 2014 titles. I’ve crossed out the books I have read to date. Ones that I especially adored are marked with **. Other than my Caldecott Challenge I feel like, due in part to a good reading month in January, I’m on track to get these titles read. If you’ve done an update for this challenge, please share the link in the comments. I’d love to come check out what you’ve enjoyed, too! Happy Reading and happy spring!

 

Must Read Books in 2014

Read to date 10/38

Books for Adults

adultbooks

Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri
In the Garden of Beasts by Erik Larson Currently reading
Delancey by Molly Wizenberg
 

Middle Grade Novels

mg2013_1

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Runaway King (Ascendance Trilogy #2) by Jennifer Nielsen (2013)
Hold Fast by Blue Balliett (2013) 
Better Nate Than Ever by Tim Federle (2013) Read January 2014 **
The Year of Shadows by Claire LeGrand (2013)

mg2013_2

The Apprentices (The Apothecary #2) by Maile Meloy (2013)
Beholding Bee by Kimberly Newton (2013)
Rump by Liesl Shurtliff (2013) | Read January 2014 **
Zebra Forest by Adina Rishe Gewirtz (2013) Read January 2014

oldermg1

May B. by Caroline Starr Rose (2012)
Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson (2012)
Inside Out & Back Again by Thanhha Lai (2011)
 
oldermg2
 
A Dog Called Homeless by Sarah Lean (2012)
Out of My Mind by Sharon M. Draper (2010)
The 13-Story Treehouse by Andy Griffiths (2011) Read January 2014
oldermg3
 
Al Capone Shines My Shoes by Gennifer Choldenko (2009)
Al Capone Does My Homework  by Gennifer Choldenko (2013)
Temple Grandin by Sy Montgomery (2012)
 

Young Adult Titles

ya2013

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (2013)
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (2013) Read January 2014 **
The Living by Matt de la Pena (2013) Read January 2014 **
 
olderya1
 
The Pull of Gravity by Gae Polisner (2011)
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie (2007)
Aristotle and Dante by Benjamin Alire Saenz (2012)

olderya2

Me Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Jumping Off Swings by Jo Knowles

Graphic Novels

GN

Drama by Raina Telgemeier (2012)
The Great American Dust Bowl by Dan Brown (2013) Read January 2014 **

2014 Titles I’m most looking forward to reading:

2014_1

2014_2

Princess Labelmaker to the Rescue by Tom Angleberger
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill by Megan Frazer Blakemore
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy by Karen Foxlee Read in February 2014 **
Five, Six, Seven, Nate! by Tim Federle Read in February 2014 **
The 26-Story Tree House by Andy Griffiths
Marty McGuire Has Too Many Pets! by Kate Messner Read in March 2014 **
The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
 

 

_____________________

Newbery Challenge Goal

Read to date: 2/12

King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry, Newbery Medal 1949 Read in February 2014

The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli, Newbery Medal 1950 Read in March 2014

I’m shooting for 12 books, or an average of one per month. I’m grateful to have fellow blogger, Elisabeth, from The Dirigible Plum along for the ride as we slowly plug through the challenging middle years of the Newbery Challenge.

 

 

_____________________

Caldecott Challenge Goal

Progress to date : Meh

I’m aiming to get through all Caldecott Medal and Honor winners through 1979. I found I really got weighed down in the 1950s, but I’m hoping to get back some steam for the Caldecott Challenge.

 

_____________________

Cheers and may your 2014 be filled with many wonderful reading memories!

4 comments on “Must Read in 2014 – Update #1

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Hi Lorna, glad you shared with me so I knew you had a post today! You’ve read such a broad spectrum of books, from the Newberys to the Caldecotts. Very nice to see. I noted a couple that I want to read but forgot I even had, like May B. I should have read it a long time ago. There are many on your list still to read that I enjoyed, but one standout, FYI, at least for me is Beholding Bee. I really liked it! Best wishes in the reading!

  2. I just got the 13 and 26 story treehouse books. My daughter plowed through them! You’ve made some great progress! Here’s to another few more busy months of reading!

  3. carriegelson says:

    I also can’t wait to see what you think of Beholding Bee. Such a wonderful book. Love that we are both such Nate fans! Such a character. I think you will also love Aristotle and Dante – I remember not being able to put it down. See that we both have some of the same titles left on our lists 🙂 Happy Reading!

  4. Crystal says:

    I started the Caldecott challenge more than a year ago and am still making my way through the list. Some are not the best texts, but it’s still an interesting task. I see several books on your list that are on mine. Also, I see a few of my favorites. I love Aristotle and Dante, The Living, Runaway King, Drama and Absolutely True Diary and have read several of them multiple times. Have a great time with your list.

Leave a Reply

