So what is this #BookFairy thing?

You’re a what? A Book Fairy?

No, I don’t actually wear wings, but I do make special deliveries! Some of my local friends may be aware of my role as the Book Fairy at our elementary school, but I realize that not all of you are know about the best volunteer gig I’ve got going. I realize that it’s hard for many teachers and school libraries to keep up with all the new titles and buzz around the books which kids are eagerly reading. Time is tight. Money and budgets are even tighter. And then how do you find the really great books among the sea of titles published each year. In other words, it is hard to keep up. Fortunately, a few years ago I wandered into the Twitter community that is the Nerdy Book Club where educators, librarians, and even parents, like myself, share titles that are really connecting with young readers. I was already someone who was ready and willing to give reading recommendations to anyone who’d listen, and yes, even random strangers at the bookstore or library, so I thought I’d pair my penchant for sharing with my Nerdy Book Club resources and bring them into the school. Two years ago, I approached my kids’ teachers, in third grade and fifth grade, about the possibility of coming in once a month to share new-to-the classroom books. Lucky for me, they said “But, of course!” And so it began.

What’s a visit like?

During a Book Fairy visit I typically share one, maybe two books, giving a plot synopsis and using book trailers and author interviews when they’re available. Sometimes I might read a short passage. My favorite part of my presentations is my quick book talks on other books that kids might like to read if they’ve enjoyed my shared titles, or maybe are awaiting their turn to read the copy I shared. At the end, I leave my feature book to become part of the classroom library. I try to bring a variety of books over the course of the year that will include different genres, reading levels and even formats (I adore graphic novels!!). Hearing reports from my kids about which titles are be handed from one eager reader to the next is so satisfying to this big book nerd. I have so much fun sharing these books and I hope the kids get a little reading inspiration from my visits, too!

Here’s a snapshot of the books I’ve shared to date. Three Four classrooms, 38 books.

 bookfairy collage1

Today, I am making my first visit of the school year and I suspect I will meet some eager students when I share these two sure-hit favorites. Head here to be taken to the website I’m using this 2014-15 school year.

  

And here are links for my past sharing sites:

2012-13 Third Grade

2013-14 Fourth Grade

2012-13 Fifth Grade

4 comments on “So what is this #BookFairy thing?

  1. Thank you for what you do! I recognize many of those that are now a part of our home because of the Book Fairy.

  2. Lorna says:

    Yay! I love the eager readers!

  3. Loved this post… hooray for book fairy activities… I wore wings when I was a book fairy… 🙂

  4. Lorna says:

    Thanks, Debbie. It is a great gig! 🙂

Leave a Reply

