My Must Read Books in 2015

Happy New Year! I found last year it was quite helpful to have a plan, a guide, if you will, to my reading intentions for the year. With a to-be-read list of over 1,000 books, choosing what to read next can be rather overwhelming. Thanks to encouragement from Carrie, at There’s a Book for That, I created a list of books I really wanted to get to during 2014. Those of us sharing our progress used the hashtag #MustReadin2014.  I finished 29/38 books from my list last year. I’m doing it again here and you can check out Carrie’s post with links to others who have posted their #MustReadin2015 lists. Unlike last year, there are no books published in the current year, just 2014 or before. These of course won’t be the only books I read this year. There will be plenty of detours along the way and certainly lots of stopping to check out much praised books of 2015, but it’s a great place to start. We’d love to have you join us! Happy reading!

My Must Read Books in 2015

Books for Adults

orchardist1  boysintheboat1

  • The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin
  • The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

Middle Grade Titles

absolutelyalmost1 crookedkind1 deathbytoilet

  • Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff
  • A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban
  • Death by Toilet Paper by Dnna Gephart

dory1 evolutionofcapurnia glorybe1

  • Dory Fantasmagroy by Abby Hanlon
  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
  • Glory Be by Augusta Scattergood

goneaway1 guysreadother1 mathilda1

  • Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright
  • Guys Read: Other Worlds edited by Jon Scieszka
  • Mathilda by Roald Dahl

meaningofmaggie1 mrterupt1 nest1

  • The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern
  • Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea
  • Nest by Esther Ehrlich 

onecrazysummer1 rainreign1 secrethum1

  • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
  • Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin
  • Secret Hum of Daisy by Tracy Holczer

titanic1 undertheegg1 westofthemoon

  • Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson
  • Under the Egg by Laura Mars Fitzgerald
  • West of the Moon by Margi Preus

Graphic Novel

amulet1

  • Amulet: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi

Young Adult Titles

aristotledante1 ifistay

  • Aristotle and Dante by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman

roseunderfire tsoflg1

  • Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  • The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner

 

 

 

3 comments on “My Must Read Books in 2015

  1. We have a few overlaps on our lists, not surprisingly. I’ve tried to read Aristotle & Dante a couple of times and just get bogged down and abandon. Hoping to make it through in the next couple of months, though. I forgot about Summer of Letting Go–really want to read that one but I haven’t bought a copy and I tried to limit my #mustreadin2015 to books I already own. Happy reading!

  2. We’ve got some of the same books on our lists. Because of Mr Terupt was on my favourite books last year. I also loved One Crazy Summer and A Crooked Kind of Perfect.

  3. carriegelson says:

    Nest, Rain Reign and The Summer of Letting Go were all on my top 14 of 2014! So I hope you enjoy them! Looking forward to talking books with you again this year!

Leave a Reply

