Update #1: My Must Read Books in 2015

Happy Spring, fellow readers! I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to warmer, sunnier days that might even permit some outside reading time! Thanks to encouragement from Carrie, at There’s a Book for That, I created a list of books I really want to read during 2015. My list below does not include any 2015 published works, just 2014 or before. These of course won’t be the only books I read this year. There will be plenty of detours along the way and certainly lots of stopping to check out much praised books of 2015, but it’s a great place to start! To see what I’ve read so far this year, look for titles that have been crossed out and are now in red. If I really enjoyed the book, I added an asterisk after the title. So far in 2015, I’ve read some gems!

We’d love to have you join us! Happy reading! Follow along on Twitter with the hashtag #mustreadin2015 .

My Must Read Books in 2015

Books read to date: 7/25 

Books for Adults

orchardist1  boysintheboat1

  • The Orchardist by Amanda Coplin
  • The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown **

Middle Grade Titles

absolutelyalmost1 crookedkind1 deathbytoilet

  • Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff**
  • A Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban
  • Death by Toilet Paper by Donna Gephart**

dory1 evolutionofcapurnia glorybe1

  • Dory Fantasmagroy by Abby Hanlon**
  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
  • Glory Be by Augusta Scattergood (currently listening to this title)

goneaway1 guysreadother1 mathilda1

  • Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright
  • Guys Read: Other Worlds edited by Jon Scieszka
  • Mathilda by Roald Dahl**

meaningofmaggie1 mrterupt1 nest1

  • The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern**
  • Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea**
  • Nest by Esther Ehrlich 

onecrazysummer1 rainreign1 secrethum1

  • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia
  • Rain Reign by Ann M. Martin
  • Secret Hum of Daisy by Tracy Holczer

titanic1 undertheegg1 westofthemoon

  • Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson
  • Under the Egg by Laura Mars Fitzgerald
  • West of the Moon by Margi Preus

Graphic Novel

amulet1

  • Amulet: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi

Young Adult Titles

aristotledante1 ifistay

  • Aristotle and Dante by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman

roseunderfire tsoflg1

  • Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  • The Summer of Letting Go by Gae Polisner

 

 

 

17 comments on “Update #1: My Must Read Books in 2015

  1. Nice list! I’m currently listening to Aristotle and Dante myself (it’s on my list, too!) I loved the Other Worlds anthology 🙂

  2. Yay for Aristotle and Dante love. Great list, Lorna! I read lots of these for Cybils!

  3. I’m reading Under the Egg right now–I have mixed feelings. It’s making me crazy to try to figure out what’s true and what’s totally made up!

  4. Looks like you’ve loved everything! That is great 🙂
    You have some AMAZING books on this list that you are going to enjoy so much. I look forward to hearing your thoughts on Amulet, Aristotle & Dante, Rose Under Fire, Rain Reign, and Hum 🙂

  5. Michele says:

    We share a lot of the same titles! I just crossed the first Amulet off my list. I had to go on my waitlist to get it… the kids have had it checked out for so long I couldn’t get my hands on it!

  6. You’ve got an amazing list here. Aristotle and Dante is one of my favorite reads from last year. The Meaning of Maggie is near the top of my list for this year. Some of these are on my to read list, but I’ve added a few after looking at your’s here.

  7. carriegelson says:

    We can share thoughts on The meaning of Maggie I will be reading it soon. You have some amazing titles still on this list – Nest is sad but beautiful and Aristotle and Dante . . . well, wow. I read The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate aloud to F & B two summers ago and we all loved it. Happy reading!

  8. vgpratt says:

    Hi, Lorna! You’ve got some good reads on here! I want to read Death by Toilet Paper and Dora Fantasmagory, oh– and The Meaning of Maggie. I don’t read lots of YA, but Aristotle and Dante has been on my radar for awhile…. May need to add that one. Thanks for sharing your ideas and your great lists! 🙂

  9. Lorna says:

    Thanks, for stopping by Virginia! I, too, don’t tend to read a lot of YA, but with a tween and teen in the house, I’m trying to read a bit more, just to keep up with things, if you will. 🙂

  10. Lorna says:

    I know, isn’t it great to know you have good books ahead of you with lists like this? I enjoyed Maggie. My E read Nest and described it as great, but sad.

  11. Lorna says:

    Hi, Cheriee–I too am looking forward to A&D. I’m pushing it up a bit in my pile!

  12. Lorna says:

    Hi, Michele! I’m kind of embarrassed that I haven’t read Amulet before. I know it is much adored by many including my youngest daughter and all of my nephews!

  13. Lorna says:

    Hi, Kellee! That’s the great thing about lists like these–you know that so many great books are ahead of you! 🙂

  14. Lorna says:

    Hi, Elisabeth! Funny, now that you say you felt confused reading Under the Egg, it reminded me that while she liked it, my youngest said she wasn’t always sure what was going on when she read it!

  15. Lorna says:

    Hi, Earl! I’m really looking forward to Aristotle and Dante!

  16. vgpratt says:

    I do understand that! I teach gifted/talented 5th graders, and I read some of those iffy books on the line between children’s /YA so I can guide readers (and answer questions from parents!).

  17. peris says:

    Lorna, thanks for the recommendation. I just finished reading Almost Always to my 4th grader. We loved it! I started reading it to both my girls, but my 11 yo took the book and finished it in one sitting. It is a great read aloud. Really wonderful! Great read for boys or girls and especially good for those who struggle in school or don’t feel like they fit in.

Leave a comment